Past Developer Previews/Beta and GM upgradeability

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Dwalls90, Jun 27, 2011.

  1. Dwalls90 macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #1
    I was curious if in past versions of OSX, people have found ways to merge/install the GM/retail version of OSX over the developer previews/betas. I know that Apple claims it's not possible, but they also said 10.7 wouldn't run on anything less than the minimum specs, ect.

    That said, is there bound to be a work around for this? Frankly, DP4 has been very stable for me and so I wouldn't mind "hacking" a retail installation over this one rather than wiping my drive clean and having to transfer over nearly 600Gb of media to and from my external.

    Cheers
     
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    There isn't any solution available right now. I don't think there will be one.
     
  3. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    Developer systems have never been upgradable to the release versions of the new OS. Are there hacks to work around this this restriction? Possibly, but they are just that--workarounds.
     
  4. macpro2000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #4
    This was possible in many versions of OSX betas.
     
  5. ck2875 macrumors 6502a

    ck2875

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Brighton
    #5
    Agreed. Despite Apple always saying it is not upgradable to the final retail, you (i.e. I) have always been able to install the retail disc over the developer preview in the end. I can't see it being any different for the MAS. Perhaps they simply mean that the Dev Preview won't get the GM version via software update.
     
  6. Nuckinfuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #6
    This just isn't smart, suck it up, backup your data, and do a clean install. By upgrading, you're increasing the risk of an inconsistent system, resources from the developer preview could be left behind and create an unstable system environment.
     
  7. unaxillo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #7
    I tought it only happened with Windows.
     
  8. Nuckinfuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #8
    Nope
     
  9. rorschach macrumors 68020

    rorschach

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    #9
    Upgrading from a beta to a final release is different from going from one final release to another.

    If you're going from Snow Leopard to Lion, you'll probably have no issues just doing a straight upgrade, although a lot of people like to do a clean install for their own "peace of mind."
     
  10. Dwalls90 thread starter macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #10
    I do agree, but I think I'll start with installing it over and then should things go haywire, manually backup media/apps and do a clean install.

    DP4 has been running smooth as glass so I don't see the point in wasting hours transferring and starting over.
     
  11. -BigMac- macrumors 6502a

    -BigMac-

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #11
    upgrade to GM and wait for .1 to come out? Will that work?
     
  12. CyBeRino macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #12
    Yes.
     
  13. Nuckinfuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #13
    I wouldn't bet on it...
     
  14. CyBeRino macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #14

    Why? The GM is what ships. One can upgrade from what ships to whatever comes out after that.
     
  15. Nuckinfuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #15
    I doubt you'll be able to upgrade to the GM from any Developer Preview. Once again, it's not safe and reliable. People need to get it in their heads that Developer Preview releases shouldn't have any data that isn't already backed up. If you can't walk up to your Developer Preview installed machine and instantly reformat your hard drive without backing up anything... YOU'RE DOING IT WRONG.
     
  16. Reaktor5 macrumors 6502a

    Reaktor5

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    New Hampshire, USA
    #16
    I think he might have meant upgrading to 10.7.1 after a fresh install of the GM?
     
  17. CyBeRino macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #17
    That's not what he asked.
     
  18. Nuckinfuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #18
    Sorry, reread it.... YES
     

Share This Page