Pausing Handbrake

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Bonesone4, May 26, 2009.

  1. Bonesone4 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #1
    Can I pause Handbrake during a rip, take that DVD out and insert a blank DVD to burn a project I have on my desktop, and then re-insert the DVD I am ripping, and then resume the rip?
     
  2. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #2
    Copy the DVD video_ts folder to your computer first? Then use that copy on the computer instead of the physical DVD.
     
  3. smurfjammer macrumors 6502a

    smurfjammer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #3
    I don't think so because when you re-insert the disc it would try and rescan the DVD.
     
  4. Bonesone4 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #4
    Interesting...so if I wanted, I could copy over as many of those folders over from my DVDs as I wanted and set Handbrake up to just keep ripping them one after another?

    PS - I'm already 90 percent done with this rip but I need to burn a quick DVD for tomorrow morning and there's still like 3 hours left to finish ripping, (which would put me somewhere around the 1am range) that's my whole reasoning of wanting to pause
     
  5. smurfjammer macrumors 6502a

    smurfjammer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #5
    You would have to use Fairmount or Mac the Ripper to copy them to your hard drive.
    What I do is rip 4-5 Dvd's to my hard drive then setup Handbrake to encode them one after another.
     
  6. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #6
    Handbrake only tries to automatically find a disc when you first open it - every other time you have to manually open the Source menu and locate the disc.

    @OP: I've paused and ejected discs halfway through rips and reinserted them and it picks up where it left off perfectly, never had a problem with it.
     
  7. Bonesone4 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #7

    Cool...how long does it normally take to rip to your hard drive? I usually just insert the DVD, choose it as the source in Handbrake, and away it goes. Usually takes about a full day to rip and have it ready to watch via AppleTV.
     
  8. bobbleheadbob macrumors 6502a

    bobbleheadbob

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #8
    I don't think so. I've had to restart under similar circumstances.
     
  9. smurfjammer macrumors 6502a

    smurfjammer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #9
    With Mac the Ripper 15-20 minutes to the hard drive then encoding with Handbrake (G5 iMac - 12 hours per disc / MacBook 1 hour per disc)
     

Share This Page