Pay & Go, Stop Data

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by timsutcliffe, Apr 27, 2008.

  1. timsutcliffe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #1
    Good morning.

    So i'm hopefully getting the iPhone, and want to but my o2 Pay & Go sim card in it. I'm worried about it recieving data when i don't want it to, and using my credit.

    Is there a way i can make it access the internet (Safari, weather etc.) only when i'm in a WiFi zone?

    Thanks,
    Tim
     
  2. philgilder macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    obviously youd need wifi, its not everywhere :)
    when the phone is jailbroken, install a program called bossprefs, and disable edge

    that should do it
     
  3. timsutcliffe thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #3
    Settings

    So that means there's nothing in the settings to say 'don't automatically check every 5 minutes'?

    Is bossprefs pretty good? Anyone have any experience using it?
     
  4. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #4
    Bossprefs works great.

    Just disable EDGE and you will be good to go.
     
  5. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #5
    That's right, the only way is to Jailbreak it. If you don't use BossPrefs, you go and forget and use Safari or weather or something, it will cost some serious cash. One webpage can cost a few dollars just to load.
     
  6. steviem macrumors 68020

    steviem

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    New York, Baby!
    #6
    Can't you get unlimited data as a bolt on with O2 PAYG?
     
  7. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    All i do is go into Edge network settings on the phone and change the APN.

    My APN is isp.mymeteor.ie, when i change it to isp.mymeteor.i (no e) then it can't connect to EDGE so i can't get charged :D
     
  8. zainjetha macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    #8
    oh simply put a non-o2 sim in and put intensionally wrong edge settings in so you wont be able to connect.
     
  9. timsutcliffe thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #9
    Good

    Well it seems there's a couple of options at least, so that's good. I've just got to hope there's some left by the time i can get one.
     

Share This Page