Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jujuwie

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 5, 2008
Hello,

I am new to Mac (Mac OS X Version 10.5.5) and I want to debug a C++ application in Eclipse Ganymede (using darwin).

When debugging the following simple sample application...
#include <iostream>
#include <vector>
using namespace std;

int main() {
vector<int> myNumbers(5, 11);
for (int i = 0; i < (int) myNumbers.size(); i++) {
cout << myNumbers.at(i) << " ";
}
return 0;
}

, I cannot gain insight into the values of the single elements of the vector but I get the following message...

Target request failed: Cannot look up value of a typedef.
(remark: in project settings > C/C++ Build > Settings > GCC C++ Compiler > Debugging -> Debug Level is set to Maximum (-g3) which I think is default value)

Would be great if anybody could help me to solve this problem because I don't feel like instrumenting all my code ;-)

Thanks,
Judith

yeroen

macrumors 6502a
Mar 8, 2007
Cambridge, MA
What is the program doing that you did not want or expect?

It should print out:
11 11 11 11 11
with no new line at the end.

What kind of insight into your vector, exactly, are you trying to gain with the debugger? Are you trying to peek into it's internal structure? Don't expect to do that in gdb.

jujuwie

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 5, 2008
What is the program doing that you did not want or expect?

It should print out:
11 11 11 11 11
with no new line at the end.

What kind of insight into your vector, exactly, are you trying to gain with the debugger? Are you trying to peek into it's internal structure? Don't expect to do that in gdb.