PB G4 ram question.

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by catzilla, Jul 13, 2014.

  1. catzilla macrumors 6502

    catzilla

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #1
    I'm trying to add ram to my PB G4 15" 1.67 SLSD. I have a stick of 1GB PC 2700 CL 2.5 which is not recognized in either slot. I have 2x 512MB which work fine. Is it the CL 2.5 which is the problem? I didn't try the 2.5 alone in the PB. Is this a firmware issue? Thanks.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Is the 1GB stick a high or low density module?
     
  3. catzilla thread starter macrumors 6502

    catzilla

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #3
    How do I determine that? It has 16 chips.
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    I believe that is high density.
     
  5. catzilla thread starter macrumors 6502

    catzilla

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #5
    Is that good or bad?
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    Bad, PowerPC Macs cannot use high density ram. It will either not work at all or show up as half the actual amount.
     
  7. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #7
    I think later models required low density RAM.
     
  8. catzilla thread starter macrumors 6502

    catzilla

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #8
    Thank you, it was leftover from some upgrade. I did find a 512mb stick so I'm up to a gig.
     
  9. MrPilot macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    #9
    the mem on the 1.67 HR model is the same as the earlier intel macs... the pc2700 won't work.
     
  10. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #10
    catzilla does not have a double layer/high resolution Powerbook. PC2700 will work fine.
     
  11. MrPilot macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    #11
    Yes it will. Thank you Intell for correcting me so much :p hah
     

Share This Page