PB G4 startup problem

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tom burns, Sep 11, 2008.

  1. tom burns macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    #1
    I have a PB G4 1.33 Ghz (10.4.11), and for some days now, during the startup there is an exclamation mark (with the OS symbol) appearing on the screen, before the grey screen. After this, the PB starts normally...

    I have seen this happening in other macs before, but I thought that it was a sign that the OS X cannot be detected...
    Does this mean that the HDD is dying?...:confused::(

    I would appreciate any opinions...

    Thanx
     
  2. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #2
    I would run a verification using DiskUtility to see if there are any issues.

    Make sure you have a good up-to-date backup just in case.
     
  3. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #3
    It sounds like it is trying to boot of another drive first, failing, then trying the internal drive. Or, the drives SMART status is getting dire, see if that information is in Disk Utility (at the bottom of the window).

    TEG
     
  4. tom burns thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    #4
    Thank you for the quick response guys!

    I ran the disk utility and it seems to be fine, and the SMART status is 'verified'...

    When i boot from the tiger dvd, boots without any problem..

    Fortunately it is not my main computer, but i have it from 2004, so this means that if it needs a new HDD, i will have to change it myself... :eek::rolleyes:
     
  5. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #5
    It's very easy to do. ifixit.com have very good photo guides.
     
  6. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #6
    Sometimes this happens if the network boot is selected as the startup disk in sys prefs.

    Cheers,
     
  7. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #7
    Did you try changing the startup disk through the "Startup Disk" Preference? That often fixes problems like this for others.

    TEG
     
  8. tom burns thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    #8
    You are right!!!

    Maybe i had chosen the network startup disk.
    I chose the Macintosh HD and it started fine!

    Thank you all!!
     
  9. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #9
    TEG is fast with the right answers. A truly worthy adversary :p :D
     
  10. tom burns thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008

Share This Page