PC and Mac printer sharing - help!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by iAppleShane, Dec 28, 2010.

  1. iAppleShane macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Location:
    Surrey
    #1
    Hi guys, :D
    Got my first iMac 21.5" yesterday. Been a PC user since I was born (16 years heh), saved up money from work and made one of the best purchases ever. Alongside my iPhone 4.

    Anway. My iMac (Running 10.6.5) is connected via ethernet to my router.
    My Vista PC is connected to the router, via ethernet.
    The Kodak ESP 5 printer is connected to the Vista PC via USB.

    I'm trying to get access to the printer from my iMac. The PC and printer are both on.
    I've enabled LPD on Windows Vista.

    On my iMac if I attempt to add a printer through 'Windows' in the first column there are two names 'home' and 'workgroup'. These appared after enabling LPD. Sadly, when clicked no printers appear.

    Please help! :)
     
  2. Dalton63841 macrumors 65816

    Dalton63841

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Location:
    SEMO, USA
    #2
  3. iAppleShane thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Location:
    Surrey
    #3
    Okay, I now manage to send it to the printer. However an error messages appears on the Vista screen and stops it from printing. :(
     
  4. Dalton63841 macrumors 65816

    Dalton63841

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Location:
    SEMO, USA
  5. mike31mets macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    #5
    Here's an alternate solution (I realize you may not be able to move the printer):
    Connect the printer to your Mac. I assume there are Mac drivers for that printer. Then share the printer out from the Mac.

    On Vista, install Bonjour and then you will be able to connect to the printer.

    You can download it here: http://support.apple.com/kb/DL999
     
  6. iAppleShane thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Location:
    Surrey
    #6
    Bonjour downloaded, but what do I do with it? :confused:

    I send to print and it just pauses now, doesn't even send to the printer, nothing appears on Vista's screen, :(
     
  7. iAppleShane thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Location:
    Surrey
    #7
    I've now tried this through the IP option:

    LPD://KODAK5

    It now says "connecting to printer" when I send something to print, then says unable to connect. :(
     

Share This Page