PC ATI 6870 in Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by andyh2, Mar 27, 2011.

  1. andyh2, Mar 27, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2011

    andyh2 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    To install the PC ATI 6870 in my Mac Pro, do I need anything other than the kexts that netkas.org describes in its latest post? Are there any hardware snags I have to get through to install it in the PCI slot, or is it just like installing a GT120. I have the early 2009 MP model. Which brand of 6870 works best, or do they all work fine (sapphire, HIS, etc).

    Thanks.
     
  2. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #2
    U need special power cables, check golden guide in my signature
     
  3. andyh2 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #3
    Does the brand matter, like sapphire or Asus?
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    It appears you need two power cables to go from the two 6-pin power connectors on the motherboard to the two 6-pin power connectors on the top edge of the video card.

    According to its one review, it looks like this power cable will work. You'll need two. Check to see if your current video card has any existing that you can reuse.
    http://www.amazon.com/PCIe-Power-Cable-nVidia-Video/dp/B002UR1654

    Please let us know how it goes, and specifically which 6870 you get. I am watching Netkas forums and some people report success while others have problems.

    I would love to join in on this, but at a minimum I need to know an exact brand/model/part# that works in a real MacPro.
     
  5. andyh2 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #5
    I just ordered a 27" Cinema & a Sapphire 6870 (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004E0KV3I). Overnighted them w/ Amazon Prime and they should be here tomorrow. I also bought cables that take the SATA power from my second, unused superdrive slot and convert them into a molex connector. In Cindori's signature his "golden guide" says that this works. I've read this a couple other places too, so I decided to get these cables/adapters instead of the ones that connect directly to the motherboard.
     
  6. ChuckBlack macrumors member

    ChuckBlack

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    #6
    I can't wait to hear your results. I'll still wait for Lion on the slim chance Apple withdraws support for these cards but kudos to you on keeping us informed.
     
  7. andyh2 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #7
    I installed the 6870 today with no problems at all. The only things that don't work are DVD Player and Geekbench according to other posters on netkas.org forum and here on macrumors. I'm currently using both SATA power cables so I have no DVD drive, but I ordered one of those cables that you posted earlier that connect directly to the mobo (http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Apple/9227128/) and it's arriving tomorrow. Before you put in the card, just make sure you have the required kexts ( available in the comments here http://netkas.org/?p=679#comments) for either 10.6.6 or 10.6.7 installed.
     
  8. Black107 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    #8
    So this setup runs 2560 on the 27" with full 3d acceleration/Open CL/etc?
     
  9. andyh2 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #9
    Yep. Runs starcraft II at 2560 at Ultra (highest) settings very nicely.
     
  10. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #10
    5870 is still faster than this, so why to care lol
     
  11. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #11
    In many cases the Radeon HD 6870 bests or a relatively close to the Radeon HD 5870, while using less power.

    It's cheaper too.
     
  12. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    90% the power, 50% the price. No brainer if you ask me.
     
  13. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #13
    no way, they built on same 40nm process, so power consumption per mm2 should be same. 6870 just have smaller chip due to less execution units, so its slower.

    http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforce-gtx-590-review/15

    and if you use opencl a lot, then 5870 is clear winner.
     
  14. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #14
    I usually just go with the AnandTech numbers and they show the Radeon HD 6870 and Radeon HD 5870 being neck-and-neck.

    Oh well, no reason to discuss this ;)
     

Share This Page