PC can't even connect to AEBS when no wireless security!?!?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Veritas&Equitas, Oct 4, 2007.

  1. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #1
    Ok, I've been reading all over the Net, Google, etc. and I cannot get this to work for the life of me.

    I set up my AEBS just fine, and all 4 Macs in the house can connect to it. However, no matter what I do, I can't get the PC to connect to it. The wireless adapter is a b/g version, and has been working fine when attached to the previous router.

    As it stands, I have ZERO encryption on the AEBS at the moment. My PC can see the network name, but still cannot connect. When I try to connect it says "waiting for the network..." for about 30 seconds, then simply stalls out and exits.

    Does anyone have any clue how I can get this adapter to connect to my AEBS?! Thanks!
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    What brand of adaptor and what OS are you running? :)
     
  3. Veritas&Equitas thread starter macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
  4. itickings macrumors 6502a

    itickings

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #4
    I didn't even know there was a g-version of MA101. On the other hand, I had nothing but problems with mine back in the days so I've kept my distance.

    My MA101 only worked reasonably when connected to a device running the exakt same chipset, virtually nothing else.
     
  5. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #5
    There wasn't. It was a crappy B adapter, and nothing else. It would however work with most b/g routers. The AEB perhaps doesn't step down to B properly in some cases.
     
  6. Veritas&Equitas thread starter macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #6
    I guess it was only a B :eek: However, I just installed a D-Link DWL-G120, which is a G adapter, and it can't even see the open network now? What is going on?!?! Grrr....
     

Share This Page