Pc for editing and film making

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Belle-vue, Jul 13, 2010.

  1. Belle-vue macrumors member

    Belle-vue

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #1
    hey all

    i would like to ask, what kind of apple pc is best for photography/editing and film making? as i'm looking forward to buy imac ! but still confused :confused:
     
  2. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #2
    Ok. So you want a Mac for film editing, yes?

    If you already have a screen, keyboard and mouse I'd go for the higher end Mini. Or if you want an all in one and you've got a bit more money to spend, probably the high end 21" iMac :D

    Good luck!
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    You have to be little more accurate. What kind of editing? With what software? What is your budget? Is portability needed? I would recommend high-end 27" iMac
     
  4. aki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #4
    What kind of editing (and what kind of budget I guess) are the vital factors here. Pretty much any mac can run iMovie, if that's what you are talking about. If you want to learn Final Cut or something, then yes you'd want to invest in an iMac. If you are serious/"serious", you'd want an iMac and a large screen. Large screen size is worth it's weight in platinum when doing video work.
     
  5. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    For final cut you'll need 4GB of RAM, maybe a Quad Core processor for best preformance, 27" screen... It'll cost some reddies. :eek:
     
  6. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    hmm. it seems as though you will be a light-ish user. HD video, photoshop and the like. i would recommend a large screen, so maybe the 27" C2D 3.33GHz iMac + 8GB+ RAM, or the Core i5 iMac 27" with 4GB or 8GB RAM.
     
  7. Belle-vue thread starter macrumors member

    Belle-vue

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #7
    Actually i'm going to start learning and investing from Final cut, Photoshop!


    how about :

    2.8GHz quad-core intel core i7
    2560 x 1440 resolution
    4GB memory

    1TB hard drive1 xdouble-layer superDrive
    ARI Radeon HD 4850 graphic with 512 MB ?

    :confused:
     
  8. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #8
    Again, what kind of footage do you have, or what camera do you want to use? And what is the destination for the finished edit?

    I edited several short films shot on DV (SD) on my G4 iBook and it worked like a charm.
    Thus a Mac Mini could easily suffice your needs, unless you want to edit uncompressed HD footage (220MB/s +), then a Mac Pro is needed.

    Can Mini run Photoshop CS5 and Final Cut Pro?
     
  9. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #9
    That will be perfect, ignore people that suggest the Mac Pro, if you're just starting out, you won't need it. I have a 3 year old MBP that does FCP perfectly.
     
  10. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #10
    As I was the only mentioning a Mac Pro, I repeat it again:

    As the OP hasn't answered the simple question of what kind of footage s/he wants to edit, which has been asked ten days ago, I just showed the OP two extrema. The Mac Mini will more than suffice many editing needs, especially if one starts with it. The Mac Pro is needed if uncompressed footage is involved, I didn't really suggest it though. I just guessed, as no real information has been given by the OP, just specs and some tidbits.
     
  11. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #11
    A Mac.

    Even former PC fanboys such as RedvsBlue switched to all Mac setup for video production.
     
  12. Belle-vue thread starter macrumors member

    Belle-vue

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #12
    thanks guys!

    I am using canon camera eos 500d, I am a beginner in doing short film! so I need final cut for film editing! if I get the one that I suggest , will it effect on the new imac update as i''ve heard there will be an update for the processor ? or there will no big difference ?

    thanks!

    p/s :its she :p
     
  13. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #13
    The high-end will remain pretty same, possibly i7-870 instead of i7-860 but that's only 133MHz difference. You may want to upgrade the RAM to 8GB later on, it's only 100$.
     
  14. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #14
    Then any current Mac, including the Mac mini, will be just fine for you. The i7 iMac will be faster during the Log & Transfer process, when it transcodes the H264 encoded video to AIC or ProRes.

    And any update, whichever and whenever it is coming, will have faster components, which you can ignore or not. You might see a 10/20% speed increase, if that is important to you, wait. If you need the Mac now, buy now.
     
  15. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #15
    The ability to be able to edit anywhere is the biggest plus. Unless you only ever plan to be editing at your house, the iMac isn't worth it.

    And spinnerlys not everyone needs a Mac Pro, even if it is HD footage a MBP will suffice, I highly doubt Bella-vue is working to broadcast timeframes/technicalities of video production...
     
  16. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #16
    Haven't you read my second post? I meant the Mac Pro as an example, especially if one edits uncompressed footage. The OP wasn't giving any indication on what she wants to edit, thus my post about the Mac Pro, and also that a Mac mini can be sufficient too.

    I also linked to the PS and FC on a Mac mini thread, as even the i7 iMac might be overkill, except during the Log & Transfer processes while the footage is transcoded.

    In my reply to her statement of what she wants to edit and where the footage comes from, I never took the Mac Pro into my mouth, I even recommended the Mac mini again.

    PS: OP, get the 8-core 2.93 GHz Mac Pro with 64GB RAM.

    PPS: The PS is an example, if I would have recommended the Mac Pro and NOT used it as an example.

    PPPS: English is only my second language, so there might be some difficulties to understand my sentences.
     
  17. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #17
    Ok, I probably read it incorrectly too, sorry for that. I thought you were really hammering for her to get the Mac Pro, which like you said, is only really useful for log & capture/coding HD footage.
     
  18. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #18
    I meant the Mac Pro for the ports, which I didn't mention, as uncompressed HD footage can go up to 220MB/s, thus eSATA is needed, as Firewire can not accommodate that.

    But as the OP most likely uses AIC (12-14 MB/s) or ProRes, any Mac with a FW800 port will do.

    Good luck on the move though. :)
     
  19. Belle-vue thread starter macrumors member

    Belle-vue

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #19
    thanks a lot! that was really useful.. i want to get deep into mac, as i'm only a beginner , so if i can update it , that should be fine ! I thought once i buy imac i wont be able to add extra GB or do some updates on the processor :p
     
  20. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #20
    You can update the RAM on all current Macs with ease for yourself, the HDD can be replaced with ease on the MacBook and MacBook Pro and the Mac Pro. The iMac and the Mac mini and the MacBook Air have hard to get to HDDs and the process of replacing them might damage the Mac if you don't know what you do.
    The CPU and the GPU (Graphics Processing Unit) are not user replaceable on all Macs but the Mac Pro, even though the 27" iMac has a replaceable CPU, but it might not be worth the hassle.
     
  21. Belle-vue thread starter macrumors member

    Belle-vue

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #21
    oh! I guess if there's an update i'll just send my future imac :p to apple store and let them update it! to avoid any damages! thx
     
  22. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #22
    As I said before, you can upgrade the RAM yourself. As far as I know, Apple won't upgrade the CPU or HDD after you have purchased it.

    Read page 37 ff. to see how to upgrade your RAM on an iMac.
    http://manuals.info.apple.com/en_US/iMac_Late2009_UG.pdf
     

Share This Page