PC Free and Airport Utility for iOS

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by AndrewLGP, Jun 18, 2011.

  1. AndrewLGP, Jun 18, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2011

    AndrewLGP macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #1
    During the recent WWDC keynote Scott Forstall was talking about iOS 5 going "PC free" and households without PCs. Even with the features he mentioned there are some things that would still need to be done with a PC. One of those things is setting up an airport. I think having airport utility built into iOS would help them in that goal. An iOS device could directly interface with an airports USB port using the connector cable. What do you guys think?

    [UPDATE] Never mind, dekadent has provided a link to the feature being included in iOS 5. Thanks dekadent.

    http://www.macrumors.com/2011/06/09/ios-5-includes-airport-and-time-capsule-setup-software/
     
  2. jas1973 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    #2
    it is built in
     
  3. Squid7085 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #3
    You obviously have no idea what he is talking about.
     
  4. AndrewLGP thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    So you can setup and configure an airport with your iOS device? Where is this functionality?
     
  5. dekadent macrumors member

    dekadent

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
  6. AndrewLGP thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
  7. jas1973 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    #7
    you obviously have no idea what anyone around you is talking about.
     
  8. jas1973 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    #8
  9. AndrewLGP, Jun 18, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2011

    AndrewLGP thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #9
    I didn't see the post. Am I not allowed to miss any information? I might have noticed it eventually anyway. Also it's not currently built into the version of iOS most people are using right now.
     

Share This Page