PC Games on Mac OS X

Discussion in 'macOS' started by SolInvictus19, Jul 9, 2009.

  1. SolInvictus19 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #1
    Allright, I just bought the Downloaded Version of Rainbow Six vegas 2 off Ubisoft.com onto my computer. I'm on a Mac OS X Version 10.5.7 PowerPC G5. I'm unable to run the game on my computer, and when I try downloaded converters such as Crossover and such, When I try to open THOSE aplications it says "Cannot open application "(app name)" because it is not supported on this architecture". Is there any way in hell I will be able to play this game on my computer? Or did I basicly just waste 30$?

    If anyone can help I beg you to.
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    1. Boot Camp Windows and play it.

    Okay, next, have you played the game before anywhere? I only ask because I need to know if there's a splash screen that comes up before the game starts.

    If there is, ignore this next part.

    2. You could put it in a Cider shell and run it natively. Get the most recent Cider shell and a good tutorial for Ciderizing it if you've never done anything like that before.
     
  3. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #3
    That game is Windows only. Unfortunately, you are not going to be playing that on a G5 since all the windows emulation/virtualization (including crossover) products require Intel Macs. The PPC arecture won;t support Windows gaming at all. Looks like you wasted 30 bucks.

    The only way you are going to get native speeds for any good gaming is though BootCamp - everything else is terribly slow.
     
  4. rowsdower macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    #4
    Is the game Intel only?
     
  5. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #5

    He cannot do that - he is running a PPC G5.
     
  6. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #6
    Agreed

    The fact that you have a PPC is going to be a deal-breaker for this

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  7. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #7
    Its Windows Only. There is no Mac version as far as I can tell.
     
  8. SolInvictus19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #8
    ,

    I'm not on a Intel Mac, and no I have no played the game before.

    I'm going to try bootcamp even though 4/5 you say its useless but it leaves me that little hope, thank you all for your help.
     
  9. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #9
    What's Tallest Skill smoking...Boot Camp will not work.
     
  10. -Ryan- macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #10
    There's no point. Bootcamp is completely incompatible with Powerpc based Macs. It's not worth even trying.
     
  11. DaveF macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    NoVA
    #11
    Apple says it's useless :) As others noted, BootCamp is Intel only. G5 won't work.
     
  12. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #12
    5/5 should say its useless because it will not work on PPC Macs.
     
  13. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #13
    Funny, how that worked out...
     
  14. xIGmanIx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    #14
    :eek: now that was funny
     
  15. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #15
    He probably missed the part where the OP was using a PPC mac and more or less focusing on him having Leopard which (if you have an Intel Mac) has Boot Camp. His advice would be accurate if the OP had an Intel Mac, but alas he does not.
     
  16. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #16
    I think we're all confused. OP said a "PC" game on OS X. I take that to mean Windows, which is why re tried to run it with Crossover.

    Is it a Mac OS X game, or a Windows version?

    If it's a Windows version, use Boot Camp. To run Boot Camp you need a Mac with an Intel processor.

    If it's a Mac game, run it in OS X. Right click it and Get Info. If you have a PowerPC Mac and the game is an Intel only binary, it will not run.
     

Share This Page