PC GTX650Ti in Mac Pro - to flash or not?!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by macgeof, Feb 5, 2014.

  1. macgeof macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Location:
    Sheffield:UK
    #1
    Hiya,

    OK, I'm running a Mac Pro 4.1, Quad 2.66GHz, 16GB RAM. It came with a GT120 and I have just put in a Gigabyte GTX650Ti (cheap and cheerful and fulfils my needs completely). As expected, no boot screen - no problems there as I have the GT120 as fallback.

    So, my questions are:

    1) Aside from no boot screen, what else am I losing out on by using an off-the-shelf PC GPU
    2) As a relative noob, how easy is it to flash this card (if at all)
    3) I have currently removed the GT120 but can I put it back in alongside the GTX650Ti and only hook my DVI cable to it if I actually need the boot screen.

    If it matters, I am running 10.9.1

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. jaxhunter macrumors regular

    jaxhunter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Location:
    Arizona
    #2
    I have the 650Ti Boost and the main problem I've had is that I cannot find the EFI firmware anyware. I'm not sure anyone has ever worked with these cards; if they have they haven't posted the firmeware anywhere.
     
  3. Robert Davies macrumors 6502

    Robert Davies

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    People's Republic of Wrexham
    #3
    After it has booted? Nothing I can think of…

    I do not know if that card even has a ROM big enough to flash an EFI component onto it with out breaking out some pretty fancy soldering gear.
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    AFAIK Nividia cards do not have a ROM large enough except for the GTX 680. That one is very easy to find and flash.

    MACVIDCARDS has a service where he can replace your card's chip with a higher capacity one and flash it for you.
     
  5. macgeof thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Location:
    Sheffield:UK
    #5
    Thanks for the responses. I'll just leave it well alone then - me and a soldering iron is not a good combo- as it fits the job already as is anyway
     

Share This Page