PC Help: Compu keeps shutting down

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by silbeej, Jun 15, 2008.

  1. silbeej macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    #1
    So my PC (dont' worry i've got a mac as well) every now and then shuts down on it's own. I will come back and it will be on my login page, and then tells me that windows has encountered a serious error. Now i just added another gig of memory to it, but ran Memtest86 and it passed with 100%. Now i have no idea if it actually the memory, all i know is that something is wrong and is really annoying. any advice would be helpful.
     
  2. Gray-Wolf macrumors 68030

    Gray-Wolf

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Pandora, Home Tree
    #2
    Check your cooling fans. I have an old desktop that the vid card fan wasn't up to the task, and it would shut things down in the middle of things. I tested and proved this by opening the case, using an external fan to plow into it, and it would keep running until I turned the fan off.
     
  3. Rodimus Prime macrumors G4

    Rodimus Prime

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    #3
    well first thing you need to do is figure out the cause and if it is hardware related.

    Does it just shut down all of a sudden and no blue screen and even if it was blue screen chances are pretty high it is a hardware issue and not a software one.

    It could be a cooling issue and it crashing, your graphic card could be messed up.

    I had that problem and it turn out that my graphic card was messed up. I replaced that with my room mates and I have not had an issue since then.
     
  4. Roger1 macrumors 65816

    Roger1

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #4
    Are your drivers up to date? I had a Win2k machine that had the incorrect driver for the ethernet card. Every time I plugged in the enet cable, the machine would reboot. It could also be the power supply.
     
  5. silbeej thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    #5
    The only reason i know it restarts is that i'll come back from work, and it will be on the login screen, and then windows willt ell me it has recovered from a serious error. I reseated my vid card which was an issue in the past. The only thing i've changed was put in new memory. Like i said, i ran a memory test, and it passed. I've since taken out the memory, and switched my old stuff to the other sockets and haven't had a problem. I really don't know how the memory could be broken but not broken. I'm going to fiddle around with it some more.
     

Share This Page