PC keeps crashing when converting videos for iPad

Discussion in 'iPad' started by copydeskcat, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. copydeskcat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #1
    Hi folks,

    I used to be able to convert videos no problem for my iPhone, iPod touch and iPad.

    I always used Videora, but recently, no matter what I do, my PC keeps crashing about halfway through an encode. It just completely powers down, as if there's been a power cut.

    I've tried Handbrake, I've tried the Vuze convertor - and they all do the same. About 48% of the way in, boom - I'm rebooting the PC.

    Anyone got any ideas? I'm using a pretty hi-spec PC running Vista Ultimate and I generally don't have much in the way of problems with it.

    Best,


    CDC
     
  2. likemyorbs macrumors 68000

    likemyorbs

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
  3. copydeskcat thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #3
    Thanks for that. I'll go do that right now.
     
  4. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    Problem solved ;)

    Lol. Use handbrake, I used to use videora but HandBrake is much better. Are you doing it from a disc? This can sometimes happen on damaged or unreadable discs.

    Otherwise could be a virus. In which case....

    Get a Mac :apple:
     
  5. copydeskcat thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #5
    Handbrake does the same. So does the Vuze converter. They all crash the PC about 48% of the way in.
     
  6. likemyorbs macrumors 68000

    likemyorbs

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #6
    Good, should fix your problem pretty quick. No, but seriously. It's a pc, and the problem is isolated to yours. The chances of anyone on a Mac website having the same exact pc are slim at best. Don't know what to tell you.
     
  7. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    Sorry I was editing my post. Read it again ;)
     
  8. likemyorbs macrumors 68000

    likemyorbs

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #8
    You use Vista, one of the worst os's ever created next to windows me. really, what were you expecting?
     
  9. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #9
    You're not exactly being helpful. If you have nothing of use to add... Leave him alone...

    Have you done a virus scan?
     
  10. likemyorbs macrumors 68000

    likemyorbs

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #10
    Well I just think its a bit of a ridiculous question for a Mac forum, its between his pc and the software its using. Really has nothing to do with the iPad either.
     
  11. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #11
    Look, just leave it. Just because he doesn't have a Mac doesn't mean someone isn't allowed to help him... Just go bug someone else.
     
  12. Graeme43 macrumors 6502a

    Graeme43

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Great Britain (Glasgow)
  13. Dragonfly47 macrumors member

    Dragonfly47

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta Metro
    #13

    That would be my guess. I've had that happen once. Just bumped up the thermal shutdown threshold in Bios a couple of degrees and no more problems. However, first strategy is to make sure all your fans are working correctly and you've blown out any accumulated dust in the case which can cause overheating.
     

Share This Page