PC/Mac Compatibility Question

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by flyersgl, Jan 7, 2010.

1. flyersgl macrumors member

Over the past year I have mostly moved our household over from PC to Mac. I recently replaced the last PC desktop with a mini. However, in the short term, I plan to use that PC as a dumping ground for a bunch of old random media--photos to scan, some music from vinyl and tape to convert, and video from a bunch of sources. I want to do this on the PC because I can set it up in a spare room with all the related hardware without cluttering my office and also because I suspect when all is said and done, I am only going to want to keep and use a portion of what I digitize and don't want to clutter the newer Macs with a lot of junk.

Anyway, my question is about the video--I have very little PC or Mac video experience and it seems like I run into format conflicts often. So, I am looking for advice on the best format to import my video into and/or the best PC software to use (yeah, I realize this is a Mac forum!) Alternatively, if there's specific formats or software I should avoid (like, I assume WMV), I'd appreciate a heads up on that.

Just trying to find the most efficient way to do the data dump and keep it usable for the Mac when I am ready to do so. Any and all advice would be welcome.

Thanks

2. KeriJane macrumors 6502a

KeriJane

Hello.

Welcome to the Forum!

I have a bit of experience with Video in PC and in Mac.
    I prefer the Mac.

If you want to do Video Editing (aka Non-Linear Editing) on a PC, one of the best programs is Pinnacle Studio. It's easy to use, provides outstanding results and is relatively inexpensive. Only thing: It can be fussy about Hardware. That is, it requires a reasonably powerful computer to run well on.

When you import Video footage into your computer, that's called "Capturing".