PC Monitor with PS3??

Discussion in 'Console Games' started by TheEpicFilmCo, Nov 21, 2009.

  1. TheEpicFilmCo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Uk
    #1
    Hi
    Would it be possible to just use a standard PC monitor with a PS3? Without the monitor being plugged into a PC?
    Please reply ASAP, this would be a much cheaper alternative to a TV.
    Thanks.
     
  2. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #2
    via HDMI > DVI it is possible but only if your monitor supports HDCP, if it dont, then it wont work ;)
     
  3. TheEpicFilmCo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Uk
    #3
    Could you give me a link to a suitable monitor around the 22inch size for under £150? Preferably under £100?
     
  4. TheEpicFilmCo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Uk
    #5
    Awesome.
    So the HDMI lead from the PS3 plugs into the back of the screen and then the game will run in full HD?
     
  5. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #6
    no, you'll need a HDMI to DVI convertor or just buy a HDMI to DVI lead, you can find some on ebay easy enough and theyre not that expensive ;)
     
  6. TheEpicFilmCo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Uk
    #7
    Will that decrease the picture quality or will it still be HD? And how does the sound work?
     
  7. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #8
    it wont decrease anything ;) essentially HDMI is DVI, there both digital, except for hdmi carries sound too,

    as for the sound, i'm really not sure, DVI to HDMI wont carry sound, but hdmi to dvi might, if not then you'll need to look at an external sound set up,
     
  8. TheEpicFilmCo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Uk
    #9
    So is there an audio out port on the PS3 that speakers can plug into?
    And would something like this HDMI to DVI lead work?
     
  9. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #10
    yeah that cable will do the trick, but i really dont know about sound, my ps3 doesnt have separate sound in or out, so, i really dont know :S
     
  10. Dr.Pants macrumors 65816

    Dr.Pants

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #11
    Yep, I'm pretty sure that would do the trick.

    One of my friends uses an HDMI->DVI cable to play on his (formerly my) AL2216W. He pulls audio of the analogue port.
     
  11. TheEpicFilmCo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Uk
    #12
    I'm getting a PS3 Slim by the way guys, and the only ports on the rear are
    Ethernet, HDMI out, Digital out, AV Multi out and AC in. No 3mm audio out socket. :( So does this mean that i can't get any sound?
     
  12. TheEpicFilmCo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Uk
    #13
    No worries everyone, found this video which explains how to get the sound working.
    Cheers!
     
  13. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #14
    Can't belive no-one has said this to you, or you haven't worked it out yet.

    You use the AV Multi out cable (composite cable) that came with the PS3. You then get a 3.5mm headphone - Female Phono jack adapter (about $2-5) and that will give you a 3mm audio jack to plug into your speakers / monitor.

    [​IMG]



    Not that difficult really ;)

    You then just make sure you select AV multi out as the sound output.

    [​IMG]

    SIMPLES!!!
     
  14. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #15
    use the hdmi and component cables in conjunction for vid and sound respectively
     

Share This Page