PC to Mac Switcher - Which iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jb609jb, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. jb609jb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    I am looking to buy the base model iMac and I wanted to be sure that I wasnt making a mistake not spending the money for the next step up in graphics card.

    I plan on doing some photo editing and a little bit of video editing but nothing crazy.

    Does a good GPU help make a program like Photoshop work better/faster? Or is that all pure CPU power?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Photo editing is mainly RAM intensive and little bit CPU so just get enough RAM (8GB) and you'll be fine
     
  3. aiqw9182 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #3
  4. Philscbx macrumors regular

    Philscbx

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    Mpls Mn
    #4
    Take a camera memory card with you to the Apple Store with loaded RAW images, along with firewire or USB card reader and take the system for a test drive.

    Using Aperture, convert the RAW images to say 1200 x Jpegs, then have the Activity monitor up and watch the torture begin.

    If it can process, and not beach ball, and peg the processors to the wall, then it might be the machine for the job.

    With RAW image in Apertures adjustment, grab the sharpness slider.
    Drag it to 80%, then drag it back to where it started.
    If the machine struggles, then you need to upgrade to next model.

    You will be frustrated to the max if you settle for anything less.

    If you don't have RAW images loaded on Compact Flash or SDHC with images ready to use, go to camera Shop, purchase a card, load it in their camera, and shoot away in Raw & jpeg mode right in the store.

    Any machine can alter Jpegs, that's no challenge.
    Setting the camera to RAW & Jpeg mode lets you see Jpegs just incase you don't have a RAW convertor on current machine to view them.

    Now you have a card to sample in the iMac.
    Good Luck, & have fun on tour.
     
  5. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #5
    Yep, I was quite "impressed" to find Aperture using all 8 (4 real 4 hyperthreaded) cores in my i7 iMac. And good advice about taking images into the store. I commandeered an 27" iMac for over an hour putting it through picture and some video paces before buying my i7.
     
  6. jb609jb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    #6
    Thanks

    Thank you all. Great and helpful points.
     

Share This Page