PC to Mac Transition

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by srs2582, Jul 14, 2015.

1. srs2582 macrumors newbie

Hi guys,

I need some buying advice!

Background:
    I have been a PC user for the past twenty years and now I am considering moving to a mac. For many years, I have resisted moving to a mac because of the cost barrier but now I find the itch too persistent to ignore it anymore. I am a freelance filmmaker and photographer. I do a lot of photo and video editing. Most of it is straight forward but sometimes, I end up in After Effects. I also use Resolve Lite for grading. I am planning to move from Premiere to FCP and Motion.

Choosing a mac:
    I am currently working on a laptop with an i7-quad core processor(i7-2670QM), 2GB nvidia graphics card and 8GB of RAM. I went through the line up of new Mac Book Pros and I don't see anything more than a dual-core i5 in the 13" variants. The 15" models are way beyond my reach. I will be editing not more than 2k files in either blackmagic's prores variant or XAVC, AVCHD. The iMacs seem too outdated in terms of specs. I would prefer mobility, though, because I have a job that requires me to travel once in a few months at the least.

My question is - will the new 13" models, specifically the $1,499 one, match up to my current laptop's specs? Also, how much of future-proofing can I expect from this purchase? I change my laptop every two years out of wear and tear. Considering the cost of macs, I would like to elongate my purchase cycle. Is this feasible?

I have consulted my friends who use macs but no one is able to give me an answer except, "macs are awesome, pcs are sh*t" :/ If I can get a well-reasoned out and qualitative argument to make the purchase, it'll be really helpful for me to decide.

Thanks in advance,
    S

2. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

No the 13 inch won't come close to a quad core and dedicated graphics card.