PC user looking for a better video editing experience

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Reminisce32, May 10, 2016.

  1. Reminisce32, May 10, 2016
    Last edited: May 11, 2016

    Reminisce32 macrumors regular

    Reminisce32

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #1
    Hi all,

    I currently use a PC with Camtasia Studio 8.6.0 for PC to edit videos and I'm having a lot of freezing/crashing issues, even though I have 4x the minimum requirements for the software. I'm hoping a mac will solve my problem, along with being able to use iMovie and possibly FCP. Let me know if this alone will make my experience better.

    Then the question is between macbook pro 15 inch retina or 5k iMac. I can't get both, but I'd want something I can take with me on vacation and possibly to my job's office, which leads to my other questions:

    1. Is editing video on a 5k imac 27'' night and day better than editing on a 15 retina MBP, or is it comparable?

    2. Is it a lot of trouble to pack and take a 5k iMac 27'' to another location to the point that it's just not worth it?

    3. What are the minimum mac specs I should get to edit videos that are about 10-30 minutes long once edited, 4k (and possibly 60fps) with repeating mp3 behind it, with about 40-50 cuts and transitions?

    Current PC:
    • AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0 GHz (4.2 GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 125W FD8350FRHKBOX Desktop Processor
    • 16 GB Ram
    • SAMSUNG 850 EVO 2.5" 500GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive
    • EVGA 02G-P4-3751-KR G-SYNC Support GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB 128-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 Video Card
    Thanks!
     
  2. phrehdd macrumors 68040

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #2
    It would be helpful if you mentioned the software you were using on the PC and the PC specs such as CPU, GPU, RAM, types of drives for the OS and scratch/work space. Btw, what was the software minimum requirements? Any answer given that doesn't take into consideration your resent adventures is one that is shooting in the blind.
     
  3. Reminisce32 thread starter macrumors regular

    Reminisce32

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #3
    • Camtasia Studio 8.6.0
    • AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0 GHz (4.2 GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 125W FD8350FRHKBOX Desktop Processor
    • 16 GB Ram
    • SAMSUNG 850 EVO 2.5" 500GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive
    • EVGA 02G-P4-3751-KR G-SYNC Support GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB 128-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 Video Card
     
  4. Johnsyounger macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    #4
    1. Yes
    2. No (keep the box)
    3. Min spec new 4 core 4K iMac is fine. I would make sure it has an ssd and min 16 gig ram.
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    The 27" iMac is a 5k display, not 4k. The 21" is a 4k display. The 27" iMac runs skylake which the MBP does not, and you have your choice of discrete GPUs, so all in all the 27" should out perform the MBP.

    It's a desktop computer, so yes I'd say its a bit of a hassle and the 27" display is a bit awkward. I recommend using the box it came in. If you're moving it a lot, there are people who sell luggage for the iMac - mostly for people who do computer shows, still its an option if you need to take your iMac

    I'd probably look for the upper tiered model, i.e., M395 processor, maybe upgrade the CPU to i7 and seriously consider replacing the Fusion drive with a SSD
     
  6. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #6
    If you are going to use it for video editing 4k video then you want the i7 for ultimate speed from hyperthreading and the best GPU you can afford, and at least the 2tb fusion drive. Upgrade the ram after market with a 16gb kit for 24gb of ram and have a great editing machine with a 5k screen that can run 4K pixel for pixel and still have space on screen for the editing tools.
     
  7. phrehdd macrumors 68040

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #7
    You didn't mention which operating system you are using. Do you have hardware acceleration on or off? Try switching to the other (if on then turn off and visa versa).

    1) does 8 core provide better or worse performance (not always the more cores the better)?
    2) AMD issue vs Intel?
    3) 16 megs RAM - have you checked on how much RAM really is available? Some media apps - the more the better.
    4) drivers - make sure you have all the appropriate drives (usually latest) and see if which version of Direct X works best with the app (if at all).
    5) is your OS version 32bit or 64 bit and similar for your application. Find the best match.

    As for Mac, the iMacs as pointed out have some challenges. You'll want at least 16gig RAM with 32 being better. 4K vs 5K screens is something you may want to check on Camtasia forums. Perhaps check into used or similar options for a Mac Pro 6 core with at least the "500" series video and 32 gigs of RAM. I only base this on your original PC and challenges. I am unsure why you have your problems but can only raise questions on areas I might investigate first.
     
  8. Digital Skunk macrumors 604

    Digital Skunk

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Location:
    In my imagination
    #8
    I think your problem is with the application for starters. The system you mention would fly through even complex projects with Adobe Premiere or Avid.

    The only answer to the desktop or laptop question is another question: "Do you plan to take it with you often?" If yes, the rMBP and you will lose performance. If no then even the base mode iMac will fly circles around a top end mbp.

    What editing software would you use on the Mac? If it's on the level of FCPX or Adobe then max out whatever system you get.
     
  9. kohlson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #9
    Not quite an apple-to-apples comparison, but I do a bit of work using Camtasia for Mac. I use a baseline 15-in 2014 rMPB (16GB, 512GB, no discrete GPU, and 2.2GHz CPU). In 4-6 minute videos, with perhaps 12 tracks fill with transitions, it seems to me that Camtasia is the near upper limit in this type of development. It gets very sluggish and slower to respond. Not unusable. You just have to work (that is interact with mouse and screen) more deliberately. This same system/setup works transparently for FCPX, iMovie. I suspect like-for-like media work will be way better with a CC/Apple video apps.
     
  10. tjwilliams25 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Location:
    Montana
    #10
    I agree that your problem is probably with Camtasia, and not your system. The kind of Mac you need really depends on your editing needs and the software you choose to run. If you're doing small editing chores in iMovie, most of the Macs will breeze through it. If you're doing complex edits in Final Cut or Premiere with lots of filters and effects, then you'll probably want to beef up the specs.
     

Share This Page