PC user switching to Mac...what i mac to buy

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by webella, Jan 11, 2009.

1. webella macrumors newbie

I am new to macs and I have always used a PC and wondered if folks could recommend which configuration for a new imac. I know I want to have the 24 inch model but need some input on what specs would serve me best. Most of my work is on XP Pro and it is simple word documents, some excel spreadsheets, and photos. I am a criminal investigator and I have some photo needs but it is more to view them, not really store them as they will go on cds. No gaming needs. Maybe download some music and watch a dvd.

Any thoughts to which model I should buy?

Many thanks in advance.

-w-

2. Jack Flash macrumors 65816

I'm trying to sell my iMac... perhaps you are interested?

3. webella thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the offer but I think I want to go new in case there's any issue.

4. Jack Flash macrumors 65816

Well, it is covered under AppleCare.

5. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution

For your needs, I don't think you will need any more than the base model 24". If you need more space, you can buy a bigger hard drive after the fact. Apple's are ridiculously overpriced.

You may also want to consider buying a refurbished model, which should save you a few hundred dollars.

6. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

Jethryn Freyman

For your purposes, any model would be fine, but I'd avoid the low end model with the ATI Radeon X2400, since the extra graphics power is always welcome.

Also, the 20 inch screen models can only display 262,000 colours, while the 24 inch models can display 16.7 million.

7. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution

Uh... what?

8. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

Jethryn Freyman

20 inch models use a 6 bit TN LCD panel, 24 inch models use an 8 bit panel.

9. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=477116