PC User thinking of buying a rMBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by frenchtony, Jan 3, 2013.

1. frenchtony macrumors member

Bonjour everybody,

I'm a software developer, long-time PC user and I'm trying to find the best laptop to buy.
    I've got my eyes on the retina Macbook Pro, but I have a few questions:

- As of today, can we now have the graphic card switching in Windows? (I read on older posts that it wasn't possible, I wonder if it has been fixed...)
    - If you are running Windows (7/8) on it, what is your experience? Are you happy or do you think you should have bought something else?
    - If you had to buy a MBP to use with Windows today, would you still buy the retina or the "regular" model?

Thanks!

2. xAgustinx macrumors regular

xAgustinx

If I had to use Windows, I would buy a PC (but that's just me).

Usually, someone buys a mac to use osx, no for the hardware itself.

Anyway, Windows 8 runs fine on my macbook.

3. frenchtony thread starter macrumors member

I considered a lot of (PC) alternatives, but it's either not as good, or not available in the UK where I live.

Back to my original questions, does anyone know if the graphic card integrated/discrete switching is now working under windows ?

4. stevelam macrumors 65816

no, it doesnt do it in windows.

5. snaky69 macrumors 603

-No. No drivers were written for it at the moment.

-I'd forego using windows 8 for now, most drivers for windows 7 work OK, but not all, you may have some trouble with that. That is apart from the fact that Windows 8's interface was clearly made with a touch screen in mind... If you're buying a rMBP to run mostly windows on it, personally I'd look elsewhere. Apart from the fact that you are overpaying to run windows, power management is not nearly as efficient in windows with MBP's, and you would not get much more than 3-3.5 hours out of a charge, whereas an actual, opimized windows laptop would have more runtime.