PC Video Card for Power Mac G4

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by tokiacop, Sep 28, 2015.

  1. tokiacop macrumors newbie

    tokiacop

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    #1
    Hello to everyone again :)

    I need some help with this problem. I have and Powermac G4 Ethernet Model with an ATI Radeon 9000 Pro Mac Edition running Leopard. I decide to update my G4 video card and i wanted to get full
    CI and QE, so.. i start to search my options and thanks to the help i find in this forum i decide to get
    an Nvidia 6200 AGP and flash it for my G4.

    First, i got and ECS 6200 256 AGP and flash it, i use the only ROM that i found on the web, the one i donwloaded from this page... http://themacelite.wikidot.com/wikidownloads2 . The ROM inside this page is for an XFX PVT44AWANG GeForce 6200, and i know that the PCB and and a few components maybe are different in the ECS Card, but i wanted to try anyway. Flash Success! tape on pins 3 and 11 and my G4 Start OK! But... And here is the but, i can´t reach the OSX desktop. The mac power on ok, i got the spinning wheel with the grey apple mac for 15 sec approximately and in the moment that sholud appear the desktop i get a Blue Screen and nothing more happens! The system is loaded, i know because i can power off the mac with keys combination.

    To discard problems with the ECS board i buy and XFX PVT44AWANG GeForce 6200 and make the same process with the exact same result, blue screen !

    I test with the 4 roms available in the page but nothing happens, got the blue screen.
    When i boot in safe mode i can reach the desktop! but with no aceleration at all!

    What could be the reason that i can´t get full boot with this flashed board ? Any ideas ?
    As you see English is not my first language, sorry for some misspellings

    Thanks in advance for your time
    Regards
     
  2. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #2
    Maybe your power supply isn't up to the task? Tried running just an install disk?
     
  3. tokiacop thread starter macrumors newbie

    tokiacop

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    #3
    Hello 128keaton , thanks for your answers. Yes! i tried an install disk, leopard DVD, and got the same problem! The only
    different is that instead a blue screen after 20 25 seconds the spinning wheel stops and the image stay freeze and nothing more happens..
     
  4. tokiacop thread starter macrumors newbie

    tokiacop

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    #4
    I forgot to say .. that i put in the ATI 9000 Pro and reinstall Leopard for just in case, then i put it back the XFX 6200 and
    same problem.

    So... you say that could be a power supply problem ?
     
  5. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #5
    Yes, it could be. If you've tried generic software (you did, good job :)) and your original hardware, then the power supply is a definite possibility. Did you do a PRAM reset (CMD+OPT+P+R on start, hold until second chime) and SMC reset (small button on logic board close to PRAM battery)? If you haven't done these, then it could be a possibility. If your power supply is going (quite a possibility, since these machines aren't young), you can either replace your PSU with a refurbished one or getting a standard ATX PC PSU -> http://atxg4.com/gige-da.html

    Also,if you don't mind, could we use the information you've gathered on the Apple Wiki?
     
  6. tokiacop thread starter macrumors newbie

    tokiacop

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    #6
    Yes! I forgot to say too! I do PRAM reset and SMC reset, and also change the battery for a new one.
    Good! I gone to replace the PSU then and see whats happens and post here the results.
    Thanks for your advice! :)
     
  7. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #7
    No problem. If your logic board is gone, they aren't too $$$ on eBay.
     
  8. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #8
    the Geforce 6200 can be quite pokey at times (for example it doesn't work in a MDD) I doubt anything is wrong with your G4 it Just might not like your 6200 I would also try running 10.4.11 see if you get the same problem
     
  9. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #9
    But, his original card has stopped working.
     
  10. tokiacop thread starter macrumors newbie

    tokiacop

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    #10
    I test the Tiger option with my XFX 6200 Flashed Card and exactly like the Leopard DVD Install Disc the Tiger DVD Install Disk it hangs too...:(

    I gonna to try PSU anyway, but beyond that.. For a Plan B... Do you know any PC Video Card to Flash it, that has been tested on a Gigabit Ethernet G4 to recommend ?
     
  11. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #11
  12. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #12
    The Nvidia 6200 has a temperature diode on it that can cause Leopard and sometimes Tiger to pause at the blue screen for a few minutes. This is normal. You can fix it by removing a kext or flashing a ROM that has the diode disabled.
     
  13. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #13
    Interesting knew it caused issues in Leopard did not know it caused issues in tiger at times. I believe the macelite wiki has a 6200 ROM with the temperature diode part disabled
     
  14. tokiacop thread starter macrumors newbie

    tokiacop

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    #14
    Thanks for you answers, i try the 2 roms with temp sensor fix and kext remove solution but nothing happens, always get blue screen.
    It could be the reason of my problem that i want to use this XFX 6200 in my G4 with an 2X AGP Port ?
     

Share This Page