PC video cards on mac pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by pacal, Mar 26, 2009.

  1. pacal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #1
    Good news!!! yesterday I installed a Gtx 8800 768mb in my mac pro 3.1!!
    Im running windows vista 64 bits. 6 gigas of ram 2 quad xeon.

    I did this because a im running FSX and now with this card and this machine I have 40 fps ultra high in mayor cities!!

    pc nvidia cards an ati cards work perfectly well in mac pro, running windows vista 64 bits or 32 bits!!!

    dont worry about the rom, they WORK!
     
  2. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #2
    Most PC cards will work under Vista in a Mac Pro. No news here... But getting them to work in OS X is a different story (ROM flashes, etc.).

    But congrats though. ;)
     
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    Successfully boot into OS X and then tell us not to worry about EFI and the ROM. Vista is meaningless; you can use anything there (don't mix manufacturers).
     
  4. irishgrizzly macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #4
    @ op: Do you have a 2nd card for Mac OS?

    @ Tallest Skil: What card you running in yours?
     
  5. kvfb97 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #5
    @pacal Can you use the power leads that come with the card or did you need to buy different ones?
     
  6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    4870 and GT 120 both.
     
  7. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #7
    TS, glad you finally got your Nehalem !!!

    Could you do us a big favor?

    We just made an interesting discovery in the "Dump the 4870 ROM" thread.

    Could you do a quick system profiler and post the PCI Cards line, like so:

    Please?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #8
    Certainly. On April second. :eek:

    When it finally ships to me. The standalone GT 120 is set for the first, which confuses me...:rolleyes:

    What am I looking for in my Profiler Info when I get it?
     
  9. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #9
    Maybe Apple is playing an April Fools joke on you?

    To get to that particular screen, just hit the Apple icon in upper left corner of screen, grab "About This Mac", hit "More Info" then click on the "PCI Cards" section.

    Bingo, you are there.
     
  10. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #10
    Sure, but I mean, are you flashers looking for discrepancies in the device IDs or card identification across people's machines?
     
  11. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #11
    The only time I was called a flasher, the whole case got dropped when a witness never showed. Prefer to forget about it.

    Seriously, I am interested in that number at the bottom regarding throughput. The flashed ones say "2.5GTS" Curious if REAL 4870 says that or a different number.
     
  12. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #12
    Oh, I can't imagine that the number of gigatransfers per second would be different.

    That is -transfers, right? Not textels?:p

    Hang on a tic... that's the speed of PCIe 1.1!

    2.5GT/s is 1.1, 5GT/s is 2.0...

    "Is that normal?" really is a good question...
     

Share This Page