PC vs. MacBook laptop in Windows company

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Stevekelner, Jun 25, 2008.

1. Stevekelner macrumors newbie

I'm at a company where Lenovo ThinkPads are standard, more or less, and it's a Windows-based IT system. We're just introducing new security functions, such as encryption, and we use ASAP Workplace for webmail. We use Outlook for email. IT will not officially support me if I get a Mac laptop, but there is at least one IT person who is knowledgeable, because one of my colleagues bought one of his own.

I would either have to run Parallels, which would cost some processing power, or use BootCamp, in which case it would just be another Windows laptop, however nice and well-designed. I have no experience with either -- would Parallels slow it down so much as to drive me bananas, or would the fastest one still be as good as my current Lenovo T60?

Here's the question: given the extra work I would have to undertake to make sure everything works (e.g., can't automate my backups with Time Machine, making sure I really link into the network), is it worth getting the Mac? My boss is fine with my getting it and has encouraged me because I need a strong, reliable computer (and because he thinks I deserve a bit of slack), but I am worried that it would cost me more time and aggravation. I have to decide soon, as my current T60 is having some serious problems, and I have to either get a new one or a Mac. Any suggestions?

2. heatmiser macrumors 68020

3. bamaworks macrumors 6502

I don't think it would be all that hard, especially since you know someone who has already done it, aka you can ask for help/advice.

4. gkarris macrumors 604

gkarris

I would go with your company standard, as at least they're letting you buy Thinkpads (HP's great also).

Here at work, we're stuck with dHell... :mad:

5. cyclingplatypus macrumors 6502a

cyclingplatypus