PC3L-10600R memory modules in Mac Pro 2009,2010,2012

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Spacedust, Oct 27, 2012.

  1. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #1
    Will such memory work in a Mac Pro ?

    Can I mix 6x 8 GB PC3-10600R modules with 2x 16 GB PC3L-10600R ?

    Both are 2Rx4.
     
  2. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #2
    Why?

    Are the L chips cheaper (I suspect not)

    They'd probably work.
     
  3. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #3
    What's the difference beetween PC3-10600R and PC3L-10600R ?
     
  4. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #4
    "L" stands for low voltage. If EFI does not lower voltage it could unnecessarily overheat.
     
  5. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #5
    No.

    Just because they are 1.35V rated does not mean they wouldn't work perfectly still at 1.5V.
     
  6. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #6
    I said it could. I see no point of getting low voltage RAM for workstation. 0.15v is not much, but still it depends on RAM BGA chips. I would not want to risk, probably no one have tried L RAM in Mac Pro.
     
  7. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #7
    There is no could about it, it just wouldn't happen :p
     

Share This Page