PCI-e SSD given for next rMBP updates?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Trey M, Aug 11, 2013.

  1. Trey M macrumors 6502a

    Trey M

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    What do you guys think? Seems pretty obvious given they just brought it to Macbook Air and are bringing to new Macbook Pro?

    I'm excited to see if Apple integrates an even higher speed PCI-e SSD than they did in the Macbook Air. Performance is supposedly killer.
     
  2. PDFierro macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
  3. CausticPuppy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #3
    It's a given for any new mac introduced at this point - including macbook pro, iMac, and Mac Mini.
     
  4. robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    I don't think it's a given for the MacBook Pro - if you can still get a spinning hard drive in them, they'll need the SATA bus still.
     
  5. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #5
    The question was about the rMBP, they don't need the SATA ports ;)
     
  6. CausticPuppy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #6
    Right- assuming they keep the classic MBP around, that is.

    For retina models, PCI-e is a given.
     
  7. Trey M thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Trey M

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Yeah don't think there will be a new Macbook Pro...Pretty sure only Retina models will be updated
     
  8. robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    There are a lot of companies and educational accounts that require a computer have a DVD drive or Ethernet port - so they will probably keep them around for a bit.
     
  9. srsub3 macrumors 6502

    srsub3

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Location:
    Boston
  10. henry72 macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    If an Air gets it, then I'm sure the Pro will get it the next update too :)
    The Pro is now the one with Retina Display. The old gen Pro will eventually out of the Pro line.
     
  11. Trey M thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Trey M

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    Keep them around yes, update them to Haswell, no.
     

Share This Page