PCI slots on Mac Pro - All the same?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by JesterJJZ, Dec 7, 2007.

  1. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #1
    Are all the PCI-E slots on the mac pro the same? Is one better or faster than another or is there a certain order to install components as is with RAM? I just got a eSATA card and Firewire 800 card and curious before I go sticking them in. Logically I'd stick them in the top two to give the video card more breathing room.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    There's one 16x PCIe slot. The rest can only be 8x. Put your video card in the 16x and use the Expansion Slot Utility to set speeds on the others for wherever you want to put your other cards. You can make the top two 8x and keep the first one 16x, I think... Anyone WITH a Mac Pro wanna back me up?


    Nehalem can't come fast enough...
     
  3. JesterJJZ thread starter macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
  4. Kosh66 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    #5
    What's confusing? I think it all makes simple sense, at least up to and including table 1. The rest may be a bit complicated.

    Basically, if you're putting the eSATA card and Firewire card in the top slots (slots 3 & 4) you're putting them in the x4 slots as configured in the default configuration, this leaves you with slot 2 which would be a x1 slot. And the graphic card of course stays in slot 1 which is a x16 slot.
     
  5. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #6
    This is the utility used to configure the slots.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. JesterJJZ thread starter macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #7
    Where is that? I don't see it.
     
  7. JesterJJZ thread starter macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #8
    I believe both cards are 1x. So should I put them in 1x configured slots or can I just stick them in the 4x ones?
     
  8. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #9
    It will come up when a new card is installed. But you can start it manually when you go into system>library>coreservices>expansion slot utility
     
  9. Roy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    #10
  10. JeffDM macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    #11
    You can stick them in any slot. If you add a third card, then maybe you'd want to consider rearranging them when the time comes.

    What specific cards did you buy?
     
  11. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #12
    Well you want to stick your 2nd card in slot 3 or 4. As those are the fastest slots while keeping the GPU at 16x Slot 4 is the 2nd fastest followed by slot 3.
     
  12. JeffDM macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    #13
    If they're really 1x cards, then which slot it's in really won't change the speed one bit.
     
  13. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #14
    This is true, tut i expect firwire 800 and esata cards to be atleast a 4x.

    EDIT: i looked it up...chances are its a 1x card. the esata card could be 4x though.
     
  14. JesterJJZ thread starter macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
  15. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #16

Share This Page