PCIe SSD solution for 2009 Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Ravich, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. Ravich macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #1
    I got a raid card from ebay back in December that was recommended here for my Mac Pro, but it ended up failing frequently and causing strange things to happen like 2 USB ports would stop functioning. Seller says they will replace it after determining the issue... after I ship it to them in Hong Kong. Not really wanting to deal with that presently.

    Any recommendations for another product or solution?
     
  2. Ravich thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    Ah, I'll keep that in mind. I forgot to specify that I already have 2 SSDs ready for action.
     
  3. bmxfr macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Location:
    Valencia
    #4
  4. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #5
  5. Ravich thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    I'm not entirely sure what I'm looking at after browsing that page for a while.

    I dont see an SSD in the picture, and there is a 0GB version...



    So if I already have 2 SSDs, could I buy the 0GB version and then just connect my SSDs to it externally with eSata cables?




    Edit: I see now that the flash storage is actually on the PCIe card. Silly me.

    Also, I am using my SSDs for streaming audio samples, so the only thing that really matters is seek time, and any SSD is already worlds better than a spinning hard drive. I'm not worried about performance.
     
  6. CASLondon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #7
    Ha ha. I've been wondering why everyone isn't jumping this. I've got the adapter in the mail. One simple drive, r/w of over a thousand. No RAID 0 surprises. Only limited availability (and a bit not cheap) is the issue.
     
  7. Earl Urly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    #8
  8. scottrichardson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Ulladulla, NSW Australia
  9. Parigot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Montreal
    #10
    I have the Velocity Solo X2 in my 2009 Mac Pro and it works very well. Boots from it no problem. Have an Intel SSD on it.
     
  10. HeadshotSK macrumors member

    HeadshotSK

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    #11
    I did the plunge and went with OWC Mercury Accelsior 256 last Jan for my MP4,1 2009.

    I needed the best of the best to go through Lightroom catalogs of RAW Nikon D800 files, sometimes 2000 a wedding!

    It fills up pretty quick with 1:1 Previews. But when I'm about to work on an entire wedding I'll start building them at night and in a couple hours those 2000 images are good to go. Just the OS, Apps, Prefs, and all Lightroom related files on PCIe internal.

    Boots Yosemite in about 17 seconds!

    Def. worth it.
     
  11. AppleTools macrumors member

    AppleTools

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    #12
    Anyone here have ever tried a Fusion-io PCIe SSD?
     
  12. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #13
    I use this, I double stick taped the 2nd ssd on there and ran a power cable from the 5.25 " bay
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0090IA3GY/ref=twister_B00BAMHJK6?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

    Works flawlessly, I get a full Sata 3 speeds, it boots. I went threw a few raid cards as you did, most of the cheaper ones used PCI 2.0 2x (or was it 1x?) which was not enough to run 2 ssds at full boar. Eventually I gave in with trying to squeeze performance from platter drives. Now I work on SSDs, backup to 6tb archive drive and a TM.

    Meanwhile, my PC which costs half as much is using all my old drives I had in my mac RAID and 2 ssds at SATA 3 with no additional hardware. I don't even need the drives but my amazing case holds them all so why the heck not? I could add a PCIe drive to boost performance but meh.

    I just found out also that my hexcore mac 3.33ghz has a lower cinebench score than my haswell 4770k i7. It's absurd the differences between mac and PC desktops. Even a $150mobo has more features than anyone can freaking use.
     

Share This Page