PCSX-R Through Wine

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by C64 Dinosaur, Mar 16, 2010.

  1. C64 Dinosaur macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    #1
    Hi, Was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction on this if it's at all possible.

    I've made a .app file of the Windows version of the Playstation emulator PCSX-R. To do this I used an application called Wine. It runs very smoothly (much smoother than the current Mac version, although thats also quite good), details on how to do it all can be found on this stupidly helpful website - http://www.macscene.net.

    The only problem left unresolved with it is USB Driver support; I'm trying to use a Logitech Dual Action USB Control which isn't recognised by the application.

    I was wondering if anyone was familiar with doing all of this already and knew a way to go about it, I'm not programming-savy in the slightest and the only solutions look pretty complex.
     
  2. Madd the Sane macrumors 6502

    Madd the Sane

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    Utah
    #2
    You are aware that there is a Mac port of PCSX-R, right?
     
  3. Akashshr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    #3
    Problem with PCSX-R Disk change

    Hey all, Please help me solve this problem, its really been a long time I am stuck with it.
    Or re direct me to the right thread,

    I am using PCSX-R playing legend of the dragoon ( 4 CD game ).
    I just finished the first one, and at the "please insert disk 2" screen, I am lost and dont know what to do. I have tried many things.

    Things I have tried:-
    1) There is an "Eject CD" option then just hangs the application.

    2) On the "Pease insert disk 2" screen I just go to file and click recently run disks and choose disk 2 there in the menu. Then the game displays, "Please while while checking for right disk" and then displays "wrong CD inserted"

    Please I really want to play this game, you are god if you can help me figure this out.

    PS- I run it on the MAC version of PCSX-Reloaded 1.9.93
    I am using ISO files to load the game disks
    I have got to the end of the first CD by using freeze state and Defrost state! In game memory card dont work, even though I have them set up. *Thats a different problem*

    Thanks everyone!
     
  4. Washac, Oct 14, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2013

    Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #4
    Maybe he feels that the PCSX-R Windows version works much better than the Mac one.

    Me I would just run it under Bootcamp if not happy with the Mac version.

    I find the Mac version works well enough for my needs.
     
  5. Madd the Sane macrumors 6502

    Madd the Sane

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    Utah
    #5
    What is the Mac version missing? As the Mac developer, I'd like to improve it as much as possible.
     
  6. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #6
    Sorry to mislead you, I have edited my post above.
     
  7. musicjunky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    #7
    Thanks for the great work on the emulator. Had a lot of fun with PSX games using your version. Does Parasite Eve 2 simply not boot? And Gradius Gaiden, guys :cool:
     
  8. Madd the Sane macrumors 6502

    Madd the Sane

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    Utah
    #8
    Check under preferences for a Parasite Eve-specific fix. Also, try disabling the dynarec core.
     
  9. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #9
    Akashshr above asks how do you perform a disc swap/file swap with games of more than 1CD/or file.

    I also would like to know how this is done, this emulater on other devices has a disc swap option I believe, this version does not.
     
  10. Madd the Sane macrumors 6502

    Madd the Sane

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    Utah
    #10
    File->Eject CD

    Apparently some people are having problems with this: I, myself, am not able to reproduce it. :(
     
  11. musicjunky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    #11
    I could've sworn I checked that option the last time I tried but I will try again. Thanks!
     

Share This Page