pdf output problem - Transparent losing and White box around shadow

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by eugenelaw, Nov 7, 2014.

  1. eugenelaw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Location:
    HK
    #1
    First, i'm so sorry guys, my english is very bad,i hope you don't mind....:(

    i'm a magazine designer in asia, i got some export problem in pdf format has troubled for a long time....

    you know, when magazine output, we need to outline text in pdf.

    the printing house sent me blue print,and then i found these three problems.

    a>some photo / text effect transparent losing and show white box.

    b>some text / graphic white box appears around drop shadow.

    c>advertisement logo losing.


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    so, i find out some answer.

    export pdf ver1.3 / some object added spot color.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    then, i checked my output pdf, it's very sure pdf 1.7 and no spot color.

    so what happened about a / b / c in my output ?

    (if not used pdf outline, everything was fine)

    thankyou!!
     
  2. citizenzen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #2
    I do magazine layout here in the U.S., and while I don't know exactly why these things are happening, there are a few steps we take before exporting to PDF ...

    • All colors are converted from spot/pantone to CMYK process color. It seems that spot colors can affect transparency quality.

    • I'm not sure why you have to outline your fonts. I don't do that myself.

    • In the rare, worst case scenarios, I convert the offending elements into a photoshop file (at least 600 ppi) and replace with that.
     
  3. eugenelaw thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Location:
    HK
    #3
    Oh! i got reply! thankyou,citizenzen!!

    so, in U.S. If you don't have pdf outline, how will outline fonts in output file?
     
  4. citizenzen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #4
    The PDF embeds the fonts.

    I've rarely had any problem with fonts not embedding in the PDF.

    It should work without having to outline them first.
     
  5. eugenelaw thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Location:
    HK
    #5

    Really?!

    i know pdf can embeds all fonts.

    but...printing house will say, they lose all fonts in the pdf....(already embeds the fonts)

    so that why i need outline....:(
     
  6. Larry-K macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    #6
    It's always a good idea to outline the fonts, some truetype fonts won't embed because of licensing issues, and in some cases you can't legally embed the fonts (no one ever pays attention to that, but it's in the EULA).

    Surprises at the RIP stage are never good.
     

Share This Page