Pending Upgrades For Music Production

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by JamesGorman, Jan 3, 2011.

  1. JamesGorman macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #1
    Hey everyone. Im planning on upgrading my system in the near future. I do a substantial amount of music production on my notebook. Im also looking to run windows 7 in Parallels. My first order of business is to get 8Gb of ram. Im probably going to order the 8GB kit from crucial off of new egg. Does anyone have any experience with this particular kit ( http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148276 )
    Im also looking to upgrade the HDD. I would like an SSD but I need at leas 500GB. Are the Momentus XT's really that fast? Or should i just go with a 7200RPM. Im Concerned a little about how much more sound/vibration a 7200RPM drive may cause, but is it really that much more noticeable?

    Thanks In Advance
     
  2. CosmoPilot macrumors 65816

    CosmoPilot

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I have the 7200 rpm (500GB) HDD and cannot tell any difference whatsoever. I ordered it from OWC...very happy with it!
     
  3. JamesGorman thread starter macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #3
    Thats good to know. Now it just comes down to if I want the Momentus XT or just a regular drive. Im also considering possibly getting an Intel SSD, and than just using external storage, But I don't know how the recording programs would like that.
     
  4. skiltrip macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    I just put that exact RAM into my 13" MBP, and it's working great. No problems. I also put a 7200rpm 500GB drive into it, got it from OWC. It's a little bit faster than the stock 5400 drive, but it's definitely a little louder. My 13" used to be silent, but with the 7200rpm i can definitely hear it spinning. But when it comes down to it, and I'm doing audio work in Pro Tools or Studio One, the fan kicks on anyway, so there's noise either way. I also use an external firewire drive for all my audio tracking though. I use a G-Drive Mini 320GB. Also a 7200rpm drive that I can hear spinning.

    I'd love to go the SSD route, but they are way too rich for my blood at the moment. Hopefully in the next year or two the prices will drop a lot.
     
  5. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #5

    I bought that kit when it was on sale from JR.com a while back. It's been quite solid in my MBP13 Mid-2010 -- no troubles at all.
     
  6. logicpro7 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Location:
    London UK
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I work in the music industry and have just put in 8GB into my late 2009 mbp. I also have a 500GB 7200 momentus xt in the post, will report back soon. I currently have the standard 5400 HD which is sometimes to slow when working in Logic as i get disc to slow errors.

    I use an external 7200 G-Drive as well.
     
  7. JamesGorman thread starter macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #7
    Logic Gave me that same error the other day. Thats sort of what prompted my choice to upgrade.
     
  8. logicpro7 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Location:
    London UK
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Yes, same here. I thought i bought the mbp with the 7200 upgrade, but after seeing the to slow errors i checked and found i had been working with a 5400.
     
  9. DaftZombie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Location:
    Washington State
    #9
    You say you'd like to go SSD but need a HD in the 500gb range, why not get a SSD and a 500gb external?
     
  10. JamesGorman thread starter macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #10
    I was thinking this, but how would the external handle being recorded to? Ill be using firewire of course. But I'm a tad worried that it'll be a little bit to slow to keep up.
     

Share This Page