Penryn MBP LCD Brightness Whine?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by cmm26red, Mar 5, 2008.

1. cmm26red macrumors regular

I originally purchased a SR MBP a couple weeks ago and come to find out, the LCD was bad and Apple declared it DOA. I went to the Apple store and swapped it out for a new 2.4GHz Penryn MBP. I am running Vista via bootcamp and am noticing a high pitched whine coming from the top left hand side of the keyboard, near the LCD. Puzzled as to the cause, I started playing with some controls to see if anything made a difference and noticed that when I dim the LCD to the min, it almost goes away. When I turn off the LCD it does in fact go away and when I increase it to maximum brightness it also vanishes. The noise seems to be the loudest when the LCD brightness is set in the middle. This problem only occurs in Vista, not OSX. I thoroughly toyed with the brightness in OSX and listed carefully, but like I said, not noise is present.

Does anybody know what is causing this? Is it normal? Should I be concerned and call Apple, or just ride it out? It does bother me a bit considering I use Vista for Office 2007 tasks. However, since the problem only occurs in Vista and not OSX, it this indicative of a software issue, or do you guys think it is hardware related?

Any help would be great,
    cmm26red

2. rezonat0r macrumors 6502

Yep, I had this problem. The sound actually comes from the screen itself. Replacing the screen solves the problem.

3. -Shock- macrumors newbie

I have the same issue. Exactly as you described- only happens in XP and not in OSX. Not sure why it would be caused when the brightness is in the majority of the middle range, but who knows. Not sure why it would be a hardware issue, if it's not happening in OS X. It hasn't bothered me enough yet to consider an exchange...besides, It'd be hard to test another unit in the store before I left.