Pentax MF Prime Recommendations for the Sony NEX system

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by carbonmotion, May 22, 2013.

1. carbonmotion macrumors 6502a

carbonmotion

I'm running a NEX-3 with plans to upgrade to a NEX-6 this year. I'd like some recommendations on MF Primes. I do travel photography, event photography, model photography, and timelapse and brochure video work. In addition to the e-mount 18-55mm kit lens and e-mount 35mm prime, I'm thinking about getting a Pentax MF 50mm f/1.4 (portraits) and Pentax MF 135mm f/2.5 (sniping at events). What do you guys think?

Background Story
    Ever since I started shooting in high school, I obsessed about getting a full frame DSLR. Eventually, I got the Nikon D700 + D200 and a collection of niceish glass to go with them. For a long time, I had ran a modeling and wedding photography side gig and those cameras served me well. Since getting the NEX, I've been selling my Nikon gear off and all I have left is a Nikkor 50 F/1.8 and some mid-range zooms.

2. acearchie macrumors 68040

acearchie

I can't really help your pentax issue but I can seriously recommend MF lenses especially if you feel like you are upto the challenge.

I borrowed a friends Leica R 35mm f/2 the past weekend and it worked like a dream on my 6D.

I'm also planning on getting a Hasselblad to EOS adapter to put some of my old hasselblad lenses on there as well.

It's really refreshing to have a focus throw that isn't a few cm between close focus and infinity and the contrast from the Leica was great!

3. twitch31 macrumors regular

I own a lot of Pentax lenses :)

I'm going to recommend the SMC Pentax 50mm f/1.2 if you can afford it, an amazing lens, otherwise any of the 50mm f/1.4 lenses (K, M or A).

4. TheReef, May 23, 2013
    Last edited: May 23, 2013

TheReef macrumors 68000

TheReef

Pentax have a bucket load of terrific primes, many oldies still outperforming thousand dollar pro zoom lenses of today.