Pentax MF Prime Recommendations for the Sony NEX system

carbonmotion

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 28, 2004
San Francisco, CA
I'm running a NEX-3 with plans to upgrade to a NEX-6 this year. I'd like some recommendations on MF Primes. I do travel photography, event photography, model photography, and timelapse and brochure video work. In addition to the e-mount 18-55mm kit lens and e-mount 35mm prime, I'm thinking about getting a Pentax MF 50mm f/1.4 (portraits) and Pentax MF 135mm f/2.5 (sniping at events). What do you guys think?

Background Story
Ever since I started shooting in high school, I obsessed about getting a full frame DSLR. Eventually, I got the Nikon D700 + D200 and a collection of niceish glass to go with them. For a long time, I had ran a modeling and wedding photography side gig and those cameras served me well. Since getting the NEX, I've been selling my Nikon gear off and all I have left is a Nikkor 50 F/1.8 and some mid-range zooms.

acearchie

macrumors 68040
Jan 15, 2006
I can't really help your pentax issue but I can seriously recommend MF lenses especially if you feel like you are upto the challenge.

I borrowed a friends Leica R 35mm f/2 the past weekend and it worked like a dream on my 6D.

I'm also planning on getting a Hasselblad to EOS adapter to put some of my old hasselblad lenses on there as well.

It's really refreshing to have a focus throw that isn't a few cm between close focus and infinity and the contrast from the Leica was great!

twitch31

macrumors regular
Feb 12, 2013
I own a lot of Pentax lenses :)

I'm going to recommend the SMC Pentax 50mm f/1.2 if you can afford it, an amazing lens, otherwise any of the 50mm f/1.4 lenses (K, M or A).

TheReef

macrumors 68000
Sep 30, 2007
NSW, Australia.
Pentax have a bucket load of terrific primes, many oldies still outperforming thousand dollar pro zoom lenses of today.

You're going to want to look out for the M and K series lenses.