People who stretch 4:3 to fill 16:9!!!

strangeday

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 2, 2009
CA
:mad:

Ugh!!!!!!

This drives me crazy! I have to bite my tongue to be polite when watching TV at other peoples' homes...People just don't GET IT! You're not seeing MORE, you're just stretching and distoring everything!! :mad:

eawmp1

macrumors 601
Feb 19, 2008
FL
I have to bite my tongue to be polite when watching TV at other peoples' homes
At least you can SEEM to be gracious to your hosts. Be glad you have people in your life who invite you over. I'm sure if they knew how you feel about such a petty issue you wouldn't have to worry about being invited over.

spinnerlys

Sep 7, 2008
forlod bygningen
Do you mean, they really stretch the image, resulting in a wider (and distorted) image, instead of cutting of the top and bottom?

I've never encountered that, but I only know one person with a TV, it was three some years ago while I studied.

What I found irritating is people (or VHSs or DVDs) who cut of the sides of a widescreen release by either watching it full screen on a 4:3 TV or or not having a widescreen version on DVD, even if it exists.

Suspended
Jan 18, 2005
My TV stretches some things. I don't mind it, but I don't stretch things on my computer unless I'm sat away from it. I don't like squinting.

carlgo

macrumors 68000
Dec 29, 2006
Monterey CA
The whole digital divide thing is interesting. A really nice house with designer furniture and expensive cars in the driveway and they are watching scratchy tv on a 20 year old tv that looks like it was rescued from the mercantile store at the dump.

What do you say to people who proudly point out their new HD tv and how nice HD is when they are clearly watching SD and don't have the required receiver or dish to watch HD?