perculiar situation i found with my new i5 imac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by sparkie1984, Dec 20, 2009.

  1. sparkie1984 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    a small village near London
    #1
    morning guys, first post here, just thought id see your views on the following

    i picked up an i5 imac a few nights ago from an apple store. checked the screen while i was there for any cracks, seemed fine!

    got it home then had a nagging feeling i should power it up and check it. (its an xmas pressie) so i fired it up screen seemed ok on the white background then it just stuck with a flashing folder.

    after some research i inserted the snow leopard boot disk and then i was instructed that my hard disk didnt have an os on it! it was a blank hdd!! i was told i had to enable journaling and i also noticed the disk was called diagnostics.

    does anyone know if they run diagnostics on it first? then maybe mines just slipped the net. bit concerned that it was able to leave their factory with no os installed on it whatsoever!

    its installed now anyway and it boots to the welcome screen now as a new mac should. hopefully itll be ok, seems to have a very very slight yellow tinge, no apparent dead pixels so far and runs quiet so id rather not return it if i dont have to.

    any views why it would be like this?
     
  2. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #2
    Sounds like yours was checked at the factory but afterwards they forgot to image it.
     
  3. sparkie1984 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    a small village near London
    #3
    thanks for the reply, so maybe its a good thing then if it means its been checked out?
     
  4. scottness macrumors 65816

    scottness

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Location:
    Room 101
    #4
    Very strange. I think you're ok if you don't mind the yellow. Never heard of a mac shipping without an OS. Strange.
     
  5. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Location:
    Thule GL @ the TOW
    #5
    ...it should be properly setup as its a new machine, take it back and let Apple figure out what happened to it...
     
  6. sparkie1984 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    a small village near London
    #6
    I'm just concerned that I'm going to get something worse than I have already. I'll wait until it's in use and see how it is I think. If all else is ok I'll leave it, if it's yellow I'll wait until apple fix it correctly

    I'm worried I may end up with something far worse
     
  7. sparkie1984 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    a small village near London
    #7
    just to update:

    well its been in use for a few days now and so far no flickering!!! dead pixels or noisy hard disk!

    time will tell i suppose
     
  8. dborja macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Northern California
    #8
    That's good to hear! Strange though, that the OS was not installed...
     
  9. sparkie1984 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    a small village near London
    #9
    yes, worried me somewhat! but as i said further up maybe its good and means that mine was actually checked by apple!!! or maybe not :eek:
     
  10. TennisandMusic

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #10
    Ok well...here would be a "sinister" thought...is there any chance Apple is selling returns/refurbs as new? There have been a glut of returns, we know that much, and not many on the refurb website for sale at all.

    Also, when I returned mine I totally wiped the disk, and didn't reinstall the OS...sounds like the kinda thing he got, no?
     
  11. sparkie1984 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    a small village near London
    #11
    maybe...... i must say i broke the tape etc when i got it, although i understand it could of been re-taped i suppose!

    is there any way of ever telling? the imac was in totally mint condition, everything was in its little plastic homes all seals unbroken etc....

    but saying that they could of just put new mice etc in....... also batteries were at 100% not say 65% as if used. although batteries were in the mouse and keyboard... maybe thats normal

    really hope it wasnt returned plus im sure thats illegal according to uk law at least
     
  12. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #12
    Apple refurbs come with an OS installed.
     
  13. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #13
    The batteries were in my keyboard and mouse. It reduces the packaging. Sounds lie you might have had one messed up at the imaging stage at the factory. Annoying, but I sometimes think it's a good thing to use your own image.
     
  14. sparkie1984 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    a small village near London
    #14
    what do you mean with imaging mate? sorry im not too up on it all!
     
  15. DesignerOnMac macrumors 6502a

    DesignerOnMac

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #15
    And refurbs come in a brown plain box, (or they used to), and not the retail box.
     
  16. sparkie1984 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    a small village near London
    #16
    mine came in a proper box mate with all the seals in place too
     
  17. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #17
    The hard drives are prepared using a master image.
     
  18. sparkie1984 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    a small village near London
    #18
    does that mean that they pre-load all the hdd's before they get installed into the imac? (like do a load of them in bulk? as surely they wont sit there at each imac for 40 mins)

    like i said im not very up on it all :eek:
     
  19. crut macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    #19
    Correct, they will pre "install" from a master image onto the hard disks before they go into the machines, if yours turned up without an OS install then it is likely it slipped through the imaging stage.
     
  20. sparkie1984 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    a small village near London
    #20
    ah! how bizarre :confused:

    i hope that doesnt mean that it had a problem, so they then run diagnostics on it, then just chucked it in the imac!

    any ideas why it was called diagnostics? with approx 2mb used?
     

Share This Page