Performa 6300CD Issues.

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by M235i, Feb 15, 2017.

  1. M235i macrumors newbie

    M235i

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    Hello MacRumor users,
    (As a first time poster this might be in the wrong section, please let me know if so.)

    I own a Macintosh Performa 6300CD, mostly original, OEM 1.2 GB HDD, Apple CD 600i, Mac OS 8.1, 64MB RAM, Farallon Ethernet LC PDS card and a (something or other) 56K modem card. I am doing some routine servicing and attempting to connect the Mac to an iBook G3 DV 466 MHz (Clamshell) with the Chooser via AppleShare, and every time the Mac would lock up, the hard disk park and only the mouse would respond. This would lead to having to unplug the Mac, replug and then reboot. I opened the HDD to see if there was anything wrong with it, and as I was working with it, the Mac suddenly shut down. It booted up normally but then the HDD wouldn't spin up. After opening it again to take a look, it shut down again and now every time I turn it on, it will not chime, the green led will shine, the HDD will not spin, and a black screen. When you power on or off there is 3 clicks from the speaker. I don't think the PSU is dead because the fan is still spinning up and power to the system, but did the MoBo die or is it something else. Recap? Any help would be greatly appreciated for both the networking issue or the power issue.

    Thank You.
     
  2. QSDP-User macrumors regular

    QSDP-User

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Location:
    California, USA
    #2
    Disregard if you tried this already:
    Do you still have the original 6300CD install disc?
    If you do, see what happens when you boot up with it and run Disk First Aid on the HDD.
    Could be a bad old tired HDD.
    Just a guess, but maybe if the 6300CD's pram battery is replaced then the wacky behavior may be lessened.
    Also, which Mac OS is the Clamshell running?
    Mac OS 8.1 and certain versions of OSX when trying to fileshare may beach-ball or worse.
    But I did see on everymac dot com that your Clamshell originally came with Mac 9.04 (& Tiger is the max OSX).
     
  3. M235i thread starter macrumors newbie

    M235i

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #3
    Sorry for the late response; turned out to be a bad HDD. If I unplug it then it will boot fine, but if it is plugged in then it just ticks along, without anything booting. Testing the hard drive shows that it just sits with a parked head and will not spin up, but the needle is locked in that position. I do not have the original install disk, and the only ones I can find on eBay are around $20, but it looks like I will have to buy it, as I will need to put a new hard drive in. I have unplugged the PRAM battery, and will most likely buy one of the AA battery replacements for $12. But now I have more of a dilemma, I only have spare 30 and 40 GB IDE's in my parts bin, and they were originally FAT and NTFS formatted. Will the disk utility be able to format the drives and partition them, because I do not have any other IDE macs besides an iMac DV SE 400MHZ, and that is running 9.2.2. And if not, can I do it on Windows and which operating system is it, I have machines running 98 SE, and XP.

    The Clamshell runs 9.2.2, I manually upgraded it from 9.0.4 because I needed the USB flash drive support.
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    Your 6300 or iMac DV will be able to read and properly format the FAT/NTFS drives to enable to you install Mac OS onto it for your 6300.
     
  5. M235i thread starter macrumors newbie

    M235i

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    Thanks for the info, but my any chance does that mean that I can do that from a USB adapter? Or does it have to be firewire?
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    Format the drive? You can do that from either a USB adapter or using the install disc with it in your 6300.
     
  7. M235i thread starter macrumors newbie

    M235i

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7
    Thanks for the info! I just wanted to make sure that I was going to be able to do this without having to buy to much stuff to make this work. I just wanted to make sure that I was able to format the drive from the USB because sometimes there are issues installing OSX from a USB drive, thanks for clearing that up. If there is anything else I will ask later.
     

Share This Page