Performa 6400/180

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by Cosmoza, Nov 14, 2011.

  1. Cosmoza macrumors member

    Cosmoza

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #1
    Got today an Performa 6400/180, 88Mb, some small HD, CDROM. Wondering if OS9 would run on this machine atleast, decently? Can an regular PCI ethernet card installed, if drivers could be still found? The speakers on this machine is quite LOUD :D
     
  2. mkjj macrumors 6502a

    mkjj

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    Liverpool
  3. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #3
    Yup, 9.1 it is.

    As for the PCI Ethernet card, yes, that'll be fine.

    The 6400/6500 series had a "sub woofer" in the base of the machine. At the rear of the machine near the top is a volume level for the sub woofer. It had a cylindrical knob that you could turn to adjust the level, but these regularly broke off.

    See page 40-42 of the 6400 Series User Manual:

    http://manuals.info.apple.com/en_US/0300027APRF6400UM.pdf
     
  4. dmr727 macrumors G3

    dmr727

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #4
    I always found it strange that ethernet wasn't standard in this model.
     
  5. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #5
    Hmmm... many of them were sold with a really bad internal modem in the CommSlot II port. Horrible software modems that crippled the speed of the machine when it was in use. They were unstable as heck on the internet, and don't get me started on the SCSI timing issues and IDE hard drive write cache corruption issues. :eek:
     
  6. dmr727 macrumors G3

    dmr727

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #6
    ^^^ yeah, these weren't really the best years for Apple, were they? :)
     
  7. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #7
    After the 6200/5200 debacle with bad L2 cache chips, brittle RGB cables, EMI clips that scratched and card fences without hooks, no. Not one bit. :eek:
     
  8. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #8
    OS 9 runs okay on it. I've got the same machine and I think with enough RAM it'll run alright, but I think it did 8.6 better. I also have a d-link ethernet card installed.
     
  9. MacTech68, Nov 16, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2011

    MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #9
    Very true. And most things that run on 9.1 also run on 8.6 :)

    If you can't find a Dlink card with Mac drivers, Realtek 8139 cards can also work (by adding the vendor and product ID to the generic Realtek driver).

    http://www.realtek.com/downloads/do...6&Level=5&Conn=4&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false#7

    Just look for a card with one of these on it:
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page