Performance wise Mac mini or 1,1 Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by GXPvince, Nov 21, 2013.

1. GXPvince macrumors regular

I am a wedding photographer and I am buying a Mac Mini for a reason other than my wedding photography job.

However, I was wondering if I should use the 2012 i7 Mini to edit instead of my 2006 Mac Pro 2x2.66 quads 16gb RAM since I will have it anyways.

What would you rather have performance wise only? (not peripherals or expandablity)

2. AidenShaw macrumors P6

AidenShaw

What applications do you use for editing, and are there any particular filters or operations that are slow (that is, are annoying pain points)?

3. a-bob macrumors newbie

a-bob

Here's my opinion. If you're using programs that require lots of real time plug ins and filters (not a photoshop guy so bear with me) then the Mac Pro Xeon processors may be for you.

If you're using programs that just require you to end process photos and crunch them down into files, then the Mac Mini may be for you.

I've always looked at the workstation processors to be like dump trucks...great for real time heavy lifting but not too speedy. The i7's are like sports cars, very fast at processing/crunching down but not so good with a load.

As usual...ymmv

4. dan1eln1el5en macrumors 6502

dan1eln1el5en

I had the Mac Pro 1,1 and it's been replaced by a mini server 2011 version with 16 GB RAM and SSD.
    The Mac Pro is power hungry and slow.

The mini is super fast, the graphics is not the best, but same goes for the Pro where you can upgrade the card, but they are expensive.

the mini will have thunderbolt, easy to bring with you if you want to work at a client or similar.

definately recommend the mini over an old Mac Pro.

(the mac pro 1,1 have very slow RAM (667 mhz, compared to the mini that can run up to 1600 mhz)

5. haravikk macrumors 65816