Persistent "Unknown Network Error"

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by bmulder, Jan 1, 2015.

  1. bmulder macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    #1
    I just unboxed a brand new MB Pro. It's beautiful, but I'm having a slight issue with stable connectivity. The symptoms are:

    -Continuous "Unknown Network Error" when downloading medium or larger files in Chrome, which interrupts downloads at random intervals.
    -Continuous failed or stalled software update downloads
    -and a finicky connection in Spotify.

    Every other computer on the network operates without these issues.

    hmmmm
     
  2. ssmed macrumors 6502

    ssmed

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Wireless or ethernet?
    Mavericks or Yosemite? (and the version)
    Is Safari better than Chrome?

    You will need to give a little more information to get a half decent set of suggestions.
     
  3. bmulder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    #3
    thanks for your reply.

    I'm using Yosemite 10.10.1, and downloads seem to hang in Safari as well.

    ----------

    ...and using wireless.
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    Can you try a wired connnection, to check that the issue is only on wireless?

    Do you get a good signal on wireless? You can Option-click on the menubar WiFi icon, check your network, the Tx Rate will give you an idea about your signal.

    Have you tried using a public DNS server, such as OpenDNS? https://use.opendns.com
     
  5. bmulder, Jan 1, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2015

    bmulder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    #5
    tx rate clocks in at around 175mbps, and a public DNS doesn't help either.

    I'm using one of the newer machines that does not have an ethernet port, but I've connected my phone as a personal hotspot through USB which seems to fix the problem. So, do I have a hardware problem? :(

    looks like a possibility, http://www.tuaw.com/2013/11/18/some-new-retina-macbook-pros-suffering-from-wi-fi-issues/
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
    As you can see, you have a good signal.
    Do you actually see the network drop out? The WiFi icon would go from black to grey when that happens.
    I suppose I didn't recognize that you have a connection issue, when you only mentioned that you have hangs during downloads.
    The article is more than a year old, but, of course, there continue to be problems with Yosemite and dropped WiFi connections. It's much better now than when Yosemite was released - after the 10.10.1 update.
     
  7. bmulder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    #7
    No, I don't. Here is a sample of some pinging. Is this an unordinary frequency of request timeouts?

    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=150 ttl=60 time=71.884 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=151 ttl=60 time=27.886 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=152 ttl=60 time=33.538 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=153 ttl=60 time=30.307 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=154 ttl=60 time=323.861 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=155 ttl=60 time=436.149 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=156 ttl=60 time=476.519 ms
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 157
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 158
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 159
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 160
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=161 ttl=60 time=28.747 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=162 ttl=60 time=28.802 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=163 ttl=60 time=34.175 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=164 ttl=60 time=84.402 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=165 ttl=60 time=157.726 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=166 ttl=60 time=287.156 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=167 ttl=60 time=197.552 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=168 ttl=60 time=505.009 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=169 ttl=60 time=384.535 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=170 ttl=60 time=469.363 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=171 ttl=60 time=470.747 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=172 ttl=60 time=35.411 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=173 ttl=60 time=55.023 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=174 ttl=60 time=30.975 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=175 ttl=60 time=35.582 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=176 ttl=60 time=83.891 ms
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 177
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=178 ttl=60 time=444.654 ms
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 179
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=180 ttl=60 time=390.600 ms
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 181
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=182 ttl=60 time=357.467 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=183 ttl=60 time=24.848 ms
    64 bytes from 24.155.9.146: icmp_seq=184 ttl=60 time=29.761 ms
     
  8. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #8
    Can you try resetting your wireless router?

    (Guadalupe St.?)
     
  9. ssmed macrumors 6502

    ssmed

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Yosemite Bug?

    Is this the Yosemite Wireless 'bug' that has been reported elsewhere on this site?

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1812094&highlight=yosemite+wifi+bug

    ----------

    This is unacceptable for many applications - not only are there dropouts, but also the latency is high which will stall some applications.
     

Share This Page