Personal Finance software

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Eldiablojoe, Oct 30, 2010.

1. Eldiablojoe macrumors 6502a

Eldiablojoe

I apologize ahead of time, I could not find a forum for 3rd party Mac software elsewhere on MR.

When I was a Windows user, I used Quicken for years for my personal finance.

Now that I've been with Mac about a year, I have searched the whole time for a decent, simple personal finance program. When Quicken for Mac came out, it was roundly panned by many. I've been using iBank3 for about 6 months, but I'm so frustrated with it's horrible non-intuitive nature and confusion that I have just about given up on it. In fact, I have given up on it.

I'm not looking for some incredibly thorough, complex, able-to-track-pre-and-post-tax-stock-purchases etc. I simply want something to balance my basic checking and savings accounts that is simple, easy to use, and relatively bug-free.

Any advice or suggestions? Please DO NOT recommend iBank, lol.

2. ergdegdeg Moderator emeritus

ergdegdeg

I can recommend mint.com. It's an online service, free and pretty good. It does everything I want (except access non-US accounts). It's made by the people who make Quicken, too.

3. Jason Edwards macrumors regular

I would suggest you go ahead and check out Quicken Essentials for Mac. It's not as bad as people would leave you to believe. it's certainly no quicken for windows, but for basic stuff like you are talking about it's just fine. A couple of weeks ago Quicken released 1.5 and it's getting better. I have the same requirements as you and so far I am really liking it.

Jason

4. vansouza macrumors 68000

vansouza

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

Ditto to the above post , give ie a try.

5. cdinca macrumors 6502

If you like quicken, have you considered using parallels?