iPhone Personal hotspot help

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Frogmanjim, Oct 11, 2012.

  1. Frogmanjim macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    #1
    Apologies, I am new to jailbreaking and would like some advice from anyone that can help.

    I purchased and installed tetherme but cannot use the personal hotspot feature. I have an iPhone 4 on the tesco network. I believe Tesco do not natively support tethering, I do not have the personal hotspot feature under settings, but read somewhere, quite possibly incorrectly, that tetherme could get round this as it masks the feature from the network provider. When I enable it under tetherme it says 'to enable personal hotspot please contact tesco'

    Can I get round this at all?

    Many thanks in advance

    James
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    If you are tethering, there is no way to mask it from your carrier even using the several available Cydia apps.

    And if you use the feature alot, you have a risk of your carrier taking action at some point.
     
  3. Frogmanjim thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    #3
    Thanks for your reply dhlizard.

    I would only use it very occassionally for work purposes to connect my laptop while I'm out and about.

    Regarding the lack of native personal hotspot feature within settings how can I overcome this? The phone is locked to Tesco at the moment so if I unlock it will the option appear? If so, whats my best unlocking option?

    Sorry for all the questions.

    Many Thanks
     
  4. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
  5. Frogmanjim thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    #5
    Ahh, so tetherme relies on the personal hotspot feature to be available under settings, but MyWi does not require this?
     
  6. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #6
    correct
    PDAnet is another
     
  7. bigalow macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #7
    So what is the point of the "Hide Tether" option in the PdaNet app? Seems odd having that toggle option of it doesn't serve a purpose.
     
  8. Frogmanjim thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    #8
    Cheers. If only I hadn't 'upgraded' to IOS6 prior to discovering Jailbreaking! MyWi and PDAnet not IOS 6 compatible :(
     
  9. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #9
    not yet, they will be in time
     
  10. bigalow, Oct 11, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2012

    bigalow macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #10
    anyone have any idea? thanks

    edit: not trying to hijack a thread but it seemed odd to start a new thread to ask this question when the topic was already brought up.
     
  11. knowash macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #11
    I am facing a similar problem but my phone is now unlocked.. it was earlier with at&t but once my contract was over i was able to get it unlocked... after that i upgraded to IO6 and then did a tethered jailbreak... after that i switched to a connection from straighttalk.. and installed tetherme app... but when i click on the personal hotspot option i still get a pop that asks me to contact at&t... on several articles on the net, i found that tetherme is working on IOS6.. please help...
     
  12. knowash macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #12
    Latest update of tetherme solved the problem.. I am able to use the personal hotspot on jailbroken iPhone with iOS 6 now
     
  13. Frogmanjim thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    #13
    Tesco Unlocked my iphone, updated tetherme, and success! :)
     
  14. VSing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #14
    Still not working on iPhone 4

    I got the latest version of Tetherme and it still does not work. I am trying to connect my iPad 2 to my phone's 3G. It used to work before ios6, but now hot spot is on, but iPad can't see it. iPad has never been jail broken. :(
     
  15. OutSpoken macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    This may sound like a silly question , but what's the difference with using an app like tether me over the standard iOS hotspot feature?
     

Share This Page