Personal hotspot

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Mistertuxedopants, Sep 27, 2011.

  1. Mistertuxedopants macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    #1
    Hey,

    Does leaving personal hotspot on use data if nothing is connected to it?

    I know stupid question just wanna make sure

    Thanks!!!!
     
  2. Saberon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
  3. Spectrum Abuser macrumors 65816

    Spectrum Abuser

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #3
    Shouldn't use a single bit. If the device has location services and sends diagnostics to and from the network that MIGHT send a Kilobyte or two.
     
  4. Mistertuxedopants thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    #4
    Thanks. Just what I wanted to hear.

    Second question, i am tethering my iPad from my iPhone, does surfing the net on my iPad use more data then say surfing the net on my iPhone?

    Cheers!
     
  5. Spectrum Abuser macrumors 65816

    Spectrum Abuser

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #5
    It might use a bit more because of the higher resolution, but it would be worth it with the bigger display.
     
  6. Mistertuxedopants thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    #6
    Yea I have a 6GB data plan. I should be fine, right?
     
  7. Spectrum Abuser macrumors 65816

    Spectrum Abuser

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #7
    Absolutely. I have unlimited here in the states. No tethering for me, but I'm a heavy phone user currently at just over 1GB with about half a month left. I watch YouTube videos on the go and stream Pandora when I go running in the evening and even caught up on a show called Pawn Stars with Netflix. So I'd say 6GB is very manageable.
     
  8. utl768 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
  9. Spectrum Abuser macrumors 65816

    Spectrum Abuser

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #9
    No. Besides the OP sounds like he is in Canada and their network 'Rogers' includes tethering in the higher in data plans. As for me I respect AT&T's contract and will never, ever tether my phone and nor would I want to.
     
  10. Mistertuxedopants thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    #10
    No, never done it before. Not really interested.

    I am in Canada, I am on the Telus network and my plan does include tethering. Thanks for all your help!
     
  11. thewitt macrumors 68020

    thewitt

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    #11
    Jail break and steal the service...

    ...and you guys wonder why developers want to stop jail breakers... Stealing services and software just goes hand in hand...
     

Share This Page