Personal Hotspot

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by Armen, May 1, 2013.

  1. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #1
    Does anyone have an issue with turning on the personal hotspot feature and not having it appear in a wifi network list until you turn it on and off a few times? If so, any idea what the issue may be?

    iPhone 5
    iOS 6.1.3
    Verizon.
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    Sometimes I have to reboot to get it to work properly.
     
  3. fsck-y dingo, May 1, 2013
    Last edited: May 1, 2013

    fsck-y dingo macrumors 65816

    fsck-y dingo

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #3
    This happens to me almost every time. It'll find all the nearby routers long before the personal hotspot.

    iPhone 5
    iOS 6.1.3
    AT&T
     
  4. cole01, May 1, 2013
    Last edited: May 1, 2013

    cole01 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #4
    Sigh, this happens to me almost every time too. With 5.0 I had no issues, it started once I was on 6.0. Let's hope this is fixed soon...really annoying when in a hurry.

    iPhone 5
    iOS 6.1.3
    AT&T
     
  5. Armen thread starter macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #5
    Ok Good it's not just me. Well, it's not good considering its a pain in the butt to get it to work sometimes when you need it.
     
  6. MozMan68 macrumors 68000

    MozMan68

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Right here...
    #6
    I have found that leaving it on the hotspot screen after turning it on makes it found faster for some reason.
     
  7. Ste Nova macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Location:
    LL22, UK
  8. spacehog371 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    #8
    Yeah, usually have to turn it on, then off, then on before it shows in the list.

    That being said, I'm using iTether to enable the tethering functionality (uses stock iOS tethering UI).
     
  9. Armen thread starter macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #9
    I wonder how much battery impact it will be just to leave the hotspot on all the time. I'll give it a try and see
     
  10. Prawnstar69 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    #10
    happens to me everytime just turn off airplane mode and turn it back on, works for me everytime.
     
  11. daviddth macrumors 6502a

    daviddth

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    Glad it's not just me. Often I have to resort to Bluetooth or Cable to get it to work with the Macbook Air or Win based PC's. Rebooting PC and iPhone occasionally works, and other times it will connect but drop out after 5 mins and wont reconnect at all.
     
  12. Armen thread starter macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #12
    This is probably a coincidence but I updated to 6.1.4 today and the hotspot seems to be working on 1st try.
     
  13. Ste Nova macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Location:
    LL22, UK
    #13
    it goes of if you don't use it, even though the switch shows on!
     

Share This Page