Personal website advice

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Kenzembo1, Mar 27, 2010.

1. Kenzembo1 macrumors 6502

Hey all,

I'm a recent college grad and I'm looking to develop a more professional image. I was in the process of ordering new business cards when friend of mine suggested that I purchase a domain address from GoDaddy and create a personal website. He said that it would catch the eye of a lot of employers and it would portray an image not only of professionalism, but also that I know my way around computers and can work with different technology. He didn't really give me any direction other than where to go to purchase my domain, and advised that I include my website (once created) along with a personalized email address on my business card.

What are your professional opinions on this? I should inform you that I graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration and have a minor in Political Science. The only experience I ever had building websites was with Microsoft Front Page in an IT class, so I'm really not sure of the best way to go about doing this. I'm wondering if iWeb is sufficient for this need...

Also, now that I have my own domain address how do I go about creating a personalized email address? I'm a little novice at this whole operation and have been using a gmail address on my business cards and resume but would very much like to change that.

I appreciate any and all advice that you may have!

Thanks,
    Ken :apple:

2. RawBert macrumors 68000

RawBert

Go for it. Get it through GoDaddy. It's only 10-15 bucks a year. They have templates to get you started. The site comes with a few email addresses with that domain.

I currently only have a web page through Google, but it's so limited. I'm getting one through godaddy as well - this weekend. :)

EDIT:10-15 $'s is for the domain. The site builder and hosting is another ~$45/year. Still quite affordable.