HomeKit Philips Hue adore woes

Discussion in 'HomeKit, HomePod, CarPlay, Home & Auto Technology' started by Nosoforos, Jun 2, 2019.

  1. Nosoforos macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #1
    hi everyone,

    After solving my previous HomeKit problems, I’m running in another problem... I just added a hue adore bathroom light to my setup. This light comes with a dimmer remote. This means you can’t just add it to your hue hub, you need to add it a bit differently. So far so good. But even though I did as instructed and tried adding the light by adding the remote first and then letting the app search for the light, it never finds it.

    Anyone experience with this problem and/or solutions?
     
  2. StumpyBloke macrumors 6502a

    StumpyBloke

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    England
    #2
    Are you using the Philips Hue app? If not, do so.
     
  3. Nosoforos thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
  4. StumpyBloke macrumors 6502a

    StumpyBloke

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    England
    #4
    Can you add the light manually using the Home App (you will need the HomeKit number)
     
  5. Nosoforos thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #5
    Problem is I have no idea where this number is... all other hue lights have a serial on them. Not so with this light. I’m afraid I threw something away where it was mentioned (then again it would be pretty strange if it were only mentioned on a disposable item).
     
  6. StumpyBloke macrumors 6502a

    StumpyBloke

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    England
    #6
    I’m sorry but I can’t help you further then.

    Perhaps reach out to Philips Hue support to see if they can help. Are you sure though that the HomeKit number isn’t on the light (you may have to take it down)?
     
  7. bbednarz macrumors 6502a

    bbednarz

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Location:
    Chicago
    #7
    The lights don't have HomeKit codes on them. Only the Hue Hub does.

    It doesn't matter which order you add the bulb or remote. The app will see them as 2 separate items. Try bringing the bulb closer to the hub. Could be a distance issue. If that doesn't work and there really is no serial number then call hue support. They are really good. They've replaced 2 of my bulbs so far under warranty with no hassle at all.
     
  8. StumpyBloke macrumors 6502a

    StumpyBloke

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    England
    #8
    My Hue lights had the HomeKit numbers on a piece of paper.
     
  9. Nosoforos thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #9
    The bulbs themselves are not HomeKit devices, only through the hub. So while they do have serials, it’s not possible to add them to the home app directly as far as I know.

    I’m going to contact support. Thanks for all the input!
     
  10. Nosoforos thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #10
    Just wanted to let you know that I finally found the serial of the device. It was NOT on the outside, NOT on a sticker on the manual and NOT located where it should have been according to the manual. Instead, it was located in another spot which was easy to overlook. Not the best experience with regards to user friendliness this specific light, but I’m glad it worked out. I find it quite baffling that the manual only mentions there is a hidden serial on the very last page, when one presumably has already attached the light to a wall, making it very cumbersome to still find the serial (especially when it’s not where it should be). Well, maybe my experience can save someone else from this frustration :D
     

Share This Page

9 June 2, 2019