Philips Hue Compatible with Home App?

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by Davy3011, Jul 10, 2016.

  1. Davy3011 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2016
    #1
    Hi,

    I've just installed the public beta for iOS10, but when I go to the Home app it doesn't pick up my Philips Hue bulbs or bridge (I own the first generation bridge that is not compatible with Siri.) has anybody else experienced this or can provide further advice? Do I need to have the Philips Hue app installed?

    Davy.
     
  2. DannyT2011 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #2
    I don't have any experience with the Home app or Philips Hue but I have recently purchased a Gen 2 starter kit (waiting for it to arrive). I would guess the Home app is for HomeKit enabled devices so you may need the Gen 2 hub which is HomeKit enabled.
     
  3. Stromberg macrumors newbie

    Stromberg

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Location:
    Darmstadt, Germany
    #3
  4. zone23 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    #4
  5. alecgold macrumors 6502a

    alecgold

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    NLD
    #5
    I have a gen2 and it works reasonable well. Not perfect, but it's still in a beta.
     
  6. noanker macrumors member

    noanker

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    #6
    Unless I'm reading the page above incorrectly, the bridge price is $59. I don't see any discount for existing Hue users with the Gen 1 bridge. Unless I'm missing something? :)
     
  7. KrisLord macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Location:
    Northumberland, UK
    #7

    http://www2.meethue.com/en-us/bridge/

    Your productID is your discount code. No idea on the level of the discount though.
     
  8. noanker macrumors member

    noanker

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    #8

Share This Page