Philips Launches Brighter, Expandable 'Hue Lightstrip Plus'

Discussion in 'iOS Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Sep 3, 2015.

  1. MacRumors macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Philips today expanded its Hue lighting lineup with the launch of the Philips Hue Lightstrip Plus, which adds new white lighting options to the colorful mood lighting introduced with the original Philips Hue Lightstrip.

    [​IMG]

    Like the first LightStrip, the new Lightstrip Plus is a two-meter LED-studded adhesive-backed strip that can be used behind televisions, under desks, and more, as mood lighting within the home. The new Lightstrip Plus is an enhanced version of the Lightstrip, adding brighter, tunable white light in addition to the 16 million color options of the original.

    [​IMG]
    The Lightstrip Plus measures in at 1,600 lumens, and the new version allows multiple strips to be chained together to reach a length of up to 10 meters. As with the first version, the Lightstrip Plus can be cut and bent as needed to fit into any space, and it can be controlled alongside other Hue lights with the Hue app.

    The Philips Hue Lightstrip Plus will be available for purchase in North America starting in October. It is priced at $89.95 for a two meter strip, with one meter extension strips available for $29.95.

    Article Link: Philips Launches Brighter, Expandable 'Hue Lightstrip Plus'
     
  2. mattopotamus, Sep 3, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2015

    mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #2
    The strip is awful. It has a massive power brick and does not stick well.
     
  3. GrumpyMom macrumors 604

    GrumpyMom

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #3
    Thanks. I was afraid of that. I have been looking for something like this to illuminate some shelving and replace the halogens the previous homeowner had installed. But I don't want to deal with a massive power brick in this location. I appreciate the heads-up.
     
  4. FieldingMellish Suspended

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #4
    This stuff brings in scenery light we'd seen in the original Star Trek series. Bring back nice warm incandescent.
     
  5. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #5
    It is really awful. It actually has the typical 2 prong power supply and also a power brick (think xbox). It hung down and didn't stay stuck because of the power brick.
     
  6. spazzcat macrumors 68030

    spazzcat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #6
    I want to make so when I watching Star Trek and some yells red alert everything turns red in my house...
     
  7. friedmud macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #7
    I have one of the originals and I love it. It's strung across the top of some cabinets I have hanging above my TV. It shines up on the wall and ceiling, giving a really nice ambient effect.

    My only issue with it is that it's hard to get a "normal" (white) lighting color out of (because it's pure RGB). It looks like this fixes it!

    At $90 I'm not going to replace what I have, but if need another one I know what I'm going for!
     
  8. spazzcat macrumors 68030

    spazzcat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #8
    How high did you hang your lights. I have no issue with my brick reaching the ground and no issues with my lights not sticking.
     
  9. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #9
    Maybe 2.5' from where the power outlet was. It was so much more bulky that you would expect. Even the packaging doesn't make it obvious there is a plug and power brick. Unless you can hide the cables in a cabinet and drill through, it is pretty clunky IMO.

    I was going to put it under granite counter top lip. If it did not have the brick I could have made it work, but there was nowhere to put it!
     
  10. k1121j, Sep 3, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 3, 2015

    k1121j macrumors 6502a

    k1121j

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #10
    this is great i love my hue strips now i need more for my movie room

    yea a hard wire solution would be nice also
     
  11. unplugme71 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #11
    Does the power brick attach directly to the light strip or is there a non-lighted cord that runs between the power brick and light strip?
     
  12. k1121j macrumors 6502a

    k1121j

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #12
    [​IMG]
     
  13. B3rry macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    #13
    Registered just to say this: mattopotamus is grossly exaggerating the size of the power brick. It's basically the size (and shape) of the og Apple remote: I've had no issues.
    [​IMG]
     
  14. B3rry macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
  15. Boatboy24 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Location:
    1 Infinite Loop
    #15
    That plug!!! Why!!????
     
  16. doelcm82 macrumors 68040

    doelcm82

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #16
    Then "make it so".
     
  17. woodynorman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    #17
    I don't have the Hue strips, but another brand. The power supply is huge too! I ended up mounting it up high inside the cabinet with some good 3M tape.

    The strips got siliconed in place.
     
  18. k1121j macrumors 6502a

    k1121j

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #18
    there is an app that does that i think hue party or something but you have to push the button it even makes the sound
     
  19. jim2011 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #19
    I have the current version of the lightstrips and have to agree that the adhesive they use is not made to last. I have them on my wall under a very large poster but about a quarter of the lightstrip has become separated from the wall. Any suggestions to make it stick again?
     
  20. cclloyd macrumors 68000

    cclloyd

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Location:
    Alpha Centauri A
    #20
    Me and my friends set it up so we could quickly turn it to a slow pulsing red when we were playing games.
     
  21. macpro2000 macrumors 6502a

    macpro2000

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #21
    It's called double sided tape.
     
  22. GrumpyMom macrumors 604

    GrumpyMom

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #22
    Thank you for registering and posting these pictures. Unfortunately it's not so much the size but the fact that that brick is located so far along the cord, away from the plug, that will make it impossible for me to use in my cabinets. It's just about impossible to gracefully hide it somewhere in my setup.

    I'm going to check out some options from Ikea. They may have the same issue. I've noticed many of these LED light strips do. I sometimes think I'll end up using a string of Christmas lights. Though that's not the look I'm going for, either.
     
  23. GrumpyMom macrumors 604

    GrumpyMom

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #23
    I've had good luck with 3M products. I bought sets of tiny plastic hooks designed to hold Christmas light wires in place. I didn't use the hooks but did use the double-sided adhesive strips that came with the hooks. They also have the benefit of being removable. The hard part is having the patience to press and hold everything until the adhesive firms up and can take the weight of whatever you're sticking. If you let go too soon, things tend to fall down.

    I think they also sell the adhesive tabs by themselves without hooks.
     
  24. jnrosemas macrumors newbie

    jnrosemas

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    #24
    I have some of the originals and I love them. Too bad I didn't wait...
     

    Attached Files:

  25. btrach144 macrumors 65816

    btrach144

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    #25
    Lol bro you're lying. I own four Hue light strips and as other's have pointed out, it's about the size of a apple remote. Quit the drama gig dude.
     

Share This Page