Home Phillips Hue lights and setup

Discussion in 'HomeKit, HomePod, CarPlay, Home & Auto Technology' started by ivanwi11iams, Nov 27, 2016.

  1. ivanwi11iams Contributor

    ivanwi11iams

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #1
    Curious, is anyone here using or have a Phillips Hue lighting system setup?

    I setup a few yesterday and now my missus wants them everywhere (not happening!)...

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Badagri macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Looks like one of those tacky hotels due to the boudoir lighting. While they can be nice, personally prefer warmer neutral colours but its not my place.
     
  3. ivanwi11iams thread starter Contributor

    ivanwi11iams

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #3
    With the help of Phillips Hue support (via Twitter), we've figured out automation.
    In particular how to set a schedule to turn certain lights on. And in doing so, turn them on using a particular scene and light brightness (and fade)...
     
  4. ivanwi11iams thread starter Contributor

    ivanwi11iams

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #4
    Wow...
     
  5. ivanwi11iams thread starter Contributor

    ivanwi11iams

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
  6. Cnasty macrumors 68020

    Cnasty

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #6
    Bought 7 this black friday as well as a strip for the TV.

    The lights are nice and all for the kitchen and living room and love the automation but wow the light strip on the TV has completely changed the TV watching experience. Great immersion, my 4K picture pops even more and it is beautiful in a low lit room to reduce eye fatigue.

    Best purchase in a long time for my set up.
     
  7. Badagri macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    That is better.
     
  8. ivanwi11iams thread starter Contributor

    ivanwi11iams

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #8
    Nice, post some photos.
    I just placed a strip at the back of my entertainment centre. But, I need to adjust it a little, to get the right mood lighting. I think I need that one to be a little brighter to give a better effect...

     
  9. mtngal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    #9
    I'm thinking of buying the new light strip for my stairs. I have a 1st gen light strip mounted under the stairs (the stairs are open at the back), so the light shines up through the open area and looks neat, but the first gen is only 6 feet long so it doesn't cover the whole staircase. I'm thinking of mounting the old one under the kitchen cabinets for some extra light there. Here's a picture I took when I was just playing around with colors, they normally are set to something more like an off-white.

    [​IMG]

    I've been gradually adding more as I find uses for them, and I love the automation and geofencing.
     
  10. hallidc macrumors 6502

    hallidc

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    #10
    I purchased the Hue set on Boxing Day...just shipped out today. Very eager to try it out
     
  11. The JTizzle macrumors 6502

    The JTizzle

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Maine
    #11
    Yes, currently up to like 40 or so lights/strips in our apartment.
     
  12. ivanwi11iams thread starter Contributor

    ivanwi11iams

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #12
    Have you had them over a month yet? And if so, do you see a marginal difference to your electricity bill?
    Thanks

     
  13. The JTizzle macrumors 6502

    The JTizzle

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Maine
    #13
    We have slowly been building over the last year and a half, started the end of last May. We have definitely seen a drop in the bill but also have included the new motion sensors in 5 of our rooms as well as 4 Taps (switches) with all of the bulbs, strips and lights. Going slowly was really nice as it gives you time to work out how you want the automation to work for you. We use a mix of timers, geo fences, sensors and switches in our daily routes and its fantastic. We have color schemes for parties, holidays, seasons, and just fun times around the house as well as the boring white ones. The biggest piece of advice I can give you is from day one drop the official app and get iConnect Hue. Its a few bucks more but works flawlessly and offers sooooooo many more features.
     
  14. steve knight macrumors 68020

    steve knight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #14
    The light strips are great to use as a morning ramp up light they will pretty much start at 0 and do better then the bulbs.
     
  15. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #15
    For whatever reason, my iOS's Home app lists many (variable, sometimes all but not always) of my Hue lights as "No Response."

    Driving me crazy. The units respond perfectly to the Hue app, so I know it's not a bad connection between hub and bulbs. HomeKit still has bugs to iron out, but my patience is wearing thin. Tempted to go back to Wink now that version 2 of the Wink hub is out.
     

Share This Page