Phone accepts any passcode

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by xjssej, Mar 23, 2015.

  1. xjssej macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    #1
    My phone will open with any passcode that I type in.
    If it is the wrong passcode, then most apps will display a prompt which says "Application Locked", requiring correct passcode to continue.
    Does someone know how to correct this?
    I want incorrect passcodes to keep the phone locked at lock screen as intended.
     
  2. Stuke00 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Location:
    Collinsville,IL
    #2
    Sounds like you need to do a restore.
     
  3. marvz macrumors 6502a

    marvz

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Location:
    Berlin
    #3
    Didn't heard about such behavior before but do you have some kind of corporate profile installed on your phone?

    Of course before that try the likely solutions a.k.a restore from backup or set up as new device.
     
  4. xjssej thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    #4
    I'm hoping to find the problem and address it rather than than going with the nuclear option of restoring. Way too much customization to quickly opt for that route. That's what incompetent IT people do (restore/wipe and reinstall). Thanks
     
  5. Ash Pole macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    #5
    Reset your passcode to something different preferably 8 digits or more.
     
  6. xjssej thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    #6
    I did that and then changed back to simple passcode and it works now!
    Thanks!

    Like I said, restore was the incompetent IT persons solution.
     
  7. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #7
    What do you mean by "too much customization"? If you do a restore then restore your backup, everything should go back. If it's jailbroken, then what do you have installed?

    Let's start with the basics:

    What model phone?
    What OS?
    Any non-standard software setup? (Jailbroken, corporate-managed phone?)
    If iOS 8, any Applications that use Extensions? (Third party keyboards, password managers, etc.)

    Have you tried restarting the phone?
    When you restart, does it exhibit the same behavior?
    What type of passcode do you have? (Simple, complex?)
    What are your "require passcode" settings? (How long to auto-lock, how long to allow entry without passcode, etc.)
     
  8. xjssej thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    #8
    Yes it's jailbroken.
    Too much customization means just that. Takes too much time to get back to where I need to be. Never as simple as a restore, even with various jailbreak backup utilities.

    Anyway, problem solved earlier in thread. Thanks.
     
  9. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #9
    Just a comment here, if you were worried about security then perhaps you should not have jailbroken your iPhone.
     
  10. xjssej thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    #10
    You must be one of those that thinks jailbreaking your very own phone is bad, the mark of a bad person.

    I've run this way for probably 8 years or more. I would literally dump the iPhone without the jailbreak.

    Anyway smarty pants, problem solved.
     
  11. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    What Exit?/Saguaro Country
    #11
    I do think it makes the phone less secure though.
     
  12. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #12
    Sometimes a restore is in fact a better solution, if not a necessary one.
     
  13. marvz macrumors 6502a

    marvz

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Location:
    Berlin
    #13
    It's the most simple (also in explaining it to non-IT persons) and mostly the most successful solution to any strange/one of a kind problem with electronic devices. And given your problem description it would have been the best approach.
    You are probably some guy who has no clue about IT but things the IT staff are the idiots... :mad:
     

Share This Page